Become a fan of Slashdot on Facebook

 



Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Compare cell phone plans using Wirefly's innovative plan comparison tool ×
Android IOS Apple

Apple's First Android App, Move To iOS, Is Getting Killed With One-Star Reviews 206

An anonymous reader writes: Apple today launched Move to iOS, the company's first Android app built in-house. As we noted earlier, "It should surprise no one that the first app Apple built for Android helps you ditch the platform." The fact that the app is getting flooded with one-star reviews is not particularly surprising, either. At the time of publication, the app has an average rating of 1.8. The larger majority (almost 79 percent) are one-star reviews, followed by five-star reviews (almost 19 percent).
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Apple's First Android App, Move To iOS, Is Getting Killed With One-Star Reviews

Comments Filter:
  • This app, and the Android-fan 1-star reviews, is discussed ad nauseum already.

    • I RTFA, being a software type, my curiosity was peaked at maybe learning some new aspect of Android vs. Apple. Yawn, Apple's program is a simple interface that allows copying data from one phone type to another phone type. This is a nice project one would give to a third world intern so that they can't screw up to badly, and feel horrible.
  • I wonder (Score:4, Insightful)

    by thaylin ( 555395 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:00PM (#50542519)

    How many of the 5 star reviews are coming from users who already use IOS over andriod.

    • Re:I wonder (Score:5, Insightful)

      by Anonymous Coward on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:05PM (#50542585)

      I presume that all the 5-star reviews are from people happy about how easy this app made switching away from Android, and it will be their last Android app review.

      Similarly, the 1-star reviews are from people who have not used the app, will not use the app, and have an odd desire to murder anyone who does use it.

      • by thaylin ( 555395 )

        Yea, because IOS users would never troll Andriod users, it is always the other way around.

        • Yea, because IOS users would never troll Andriod users, it is always the other way around.

          Actually, by and large, most iOS users don't even acknowledge Android users. But the other way around...?

      • by tomhath ( 637240 )

        I presume that all the 5-star reviews are from people happy about how easy this app made switching away from Android

        Why would you presume that? Astroturfing is far more likely.

    • All of them. There is no point in installing that app if one does not already use iOS and finally got an easier way to move all that stuff from the old Android phone.
    • Re:I wonder (Score:5, Informative)

      by Anubis IV ( 1279820 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @03:05PM (#50543393)

      In just skimming the top reviews, it looks like:

      the 5 stars are mostly Apple fanboys who have never used Android but have invaded Google Play so that they can stick up for their platform of choice, despite having no device on which to actually use the app to see whether it works as described.

      the 1 stars are mostly Android fanboys who have never used iOS but are posting reviews anyway so that they can stick up for their platform of choice, despite having no intention to switch platforms or use the app to see whether it works as described.

      In a perfect world, app reviews would tell you whether the app does what it's supposed to do and how well it does it, then leave it up to other users to decide if that's something they want. In the real world, that actually useful information gets buried under thousands of pages of useless drivel between fanboys for each side.

      • by MrNaz ( 730548 )

        Obligatory:
        https://xkcd.com/937/ [xkcd.com]

      • by mark-t ( 151149 )

        In other words, this app has been flooded with fake reviews.

        I'd suggest that's immature on both android users and iphone users' parts for misrepresenting their experience with the app.

        That one may be able to extract an estimate of average maturity of android users compared to that of iphone users based on the fact that their complaints about the app so vastly outnumber the 5-star reviews and cross referencing that imbalance with the ratio of android users to iphone users in general is left as an exerci

    • How many of the 5 star reviews are coming from users who already use IOS over andriod.

      And how many of the 1 star reviews come from Android users who hate iOS despite never having used it? ...welcome to the computer operating system holy wars [dilbert.com].

    • You have to use the app to rate it, which means you need to own an Android device. Which doesn't entirely prevent stuffing, but iOS users aren't likely as a whole to have an Android device sitting around.

      • by mark-t ( 151149 )
        Actually. IOS users are *more* likely to have access to an android device than android users, because android emulators exist that can be run in Windows, while ios emulation is currently only possible on a mac.
  • by Spy Handler ( 822350 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:06PM (#50542593) Homepage Journal

    but Apple rejected the "Ditch Apple and switch to Android" app in iTunes?

    • by thaylin ( 555395 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:18PM (#50542757)

      Google does not reject aps. They may ban them if they are discovered to have maleware, but if you get the developer license then you can post your apps.

      • Google does not reject aps. They may ban them if they are discovered to have maleware...

        ... But manfully deciding to post none of them.

      • Re: (Score:2, Interesting)

        by Anonymous Coward

        Didn't Google ban ad blockers from the Play Store?

        • by cdrudge ( 68377 )

          They were deemed malicious to Google's bottom line.

          • by phayes ( 202222 )

            and now that iOS9 makes it possible to ad ad blockers to safari, they are rising to the top of the app store sales in days.

      • Re: (Score:2, Insightful)

        by Anonymous Coward

        Speaking as someone who has apps rejected, Google does indeed reject apps. In fact, if you get 3 policy strikes you lose you developer account and they close any associate Google accounts (GMail, AdMob, AdSense) and you are dead to the world.

      • What do they do if the apps have femaleware in them?
      • by mjwx ( 966435 )

        Google does not reject aps. They may ban them if they are discovered to have maleware, but if you get the developer license then you can post your apps.

        Not strictly true,

        They reject applications that are illegal or harmful. But Google do not reject applications out of whimsy, blind ideology or because they're afraid they'll be better than the stock apps.

        Beyond this being rejected from Google Play isn't the end for an application. This is a bit of a double edged sword, but it's still the reason I like Android and the way Android does things, the benefits outweigh the flaws and it gives me, the owner of the device, the power to choose how I want to use

      • What is that?

  • It would be nice if there were more of a specific description of what this app does. How does it help you move to iOS? I'm assuming it doesn't (couldn't) overwrite the existing operating system on your android device with iOS, so what does it do? Advertise?

    • by raymorris ( 2726007 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:30PM (#50542921) Journal

      I figure it prepares your data for use on an iOS device - encrypting videos you've shot and adding DRM, watermarks your mp3 with your email address/Apple ID, and converts any patent-free codecs like Ogg Theora to mov with an Apple-patented codec.

    • by nicholasjay ( 921044 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:44PM (#50543131)

      The app creates a secure wireless connection directly between your new iPhone and your old Android phone. It then moves over your contacts, pictures, and videos. Any app that's on the Android phone that's free in the App Store will get downloaded to the iPhone. Any app that requires a payment will be put in your Wish List in iTunes.

    • by RDW ( 41497 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @04:51PM (#50544277)

      It would be nice if there were more of a specific description of what this app does. How does it help you move to iOS?

      I can't tell you exactly what it does, but you might find my experience useful. After vaguely thinking that it might be interesting to get an iPhone for a change, I installed the app yesterday and ran it in the normal way. At first, nothing seemed to be happening, but then a faint rotating spiral appeared on the screen. As the beautifully designed pattern became gradually more intense, the phone began to play a strange pulsing harmony and the flash LED blinked softly in time to the music. At that point I began to feel strangely tired, and the next thing I knew it was half an hour later. I have no memory of what happened in that missing 30 minutes, but I see that a $949 transaction has been made on my credit card and a 128GB iPhone 6s Plus seems to be on pre-order from my brand new account at the Apple Store. I hope it comes quickly and my data has been transferred, as all my Android phone will now do is display random quotes in Helvetica like "Innovation distinguishes between a leader and a follower" and "Just avoid holding it in that way".

  • by mveloso ( 325617 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:24PM (#50542815)

    Why can non-users review an app? That seems to be a play store fail.

    • maybe they downloaded, rated 1-star, and then deleted it.

      • maybe they downloaded, rated 1-star, and then deleted it.

        a) skip step 1
        b) profit!

      • Then funny part is that even the people hating on it count as a download, which means Apple can claim that a huge number of people downloaded it within the first x days, which gives an impression that there was an even larger migration from Android to Apple.
  • by soft_guy ( 534437 ) * on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:53PM (#50543247)
    If I was planning to switch from Android to iOS, I would consider using an app like this. The question is, do the app itself work well for the use case it is advertised for? Does it actually move your data over to iOS? What data does it specifically move? What does it not move?

    I don't care what kind of computers other people use. I write MacOS X software for a living. I chose MacOS X as a user and as a developer for a variety of reasons, but I recognize those reasons may no longer be current. I haven't used Windows since Vista - and my use of Vista was doing development on a cross platform Windows/Mac/Linux app I wrote. I have written software for iOS (before it was even called iOS) and some iPhone apps I've written have been commercially quite successful. I thought about writing software for Android, but I haven't because my understanding is that Android users don't (in general) spend money on apps. I don't like "freemium" apps. I prefer to charge up front or else have it free. These days, I'm really more interested in MacOS X software and Linux software.

    That said, I don't care what phone you like. I am very glad there are multiple viable phone platforms. I think iOS is cool. I don't like having to ship software through the App Store. That said, I've certainly sold more through the App Store than I ever sold through other channels like Kagi.

    Anyway, I'm disappointed that the conversation here isn't focused on whether the reviews are useful. That's what I would care about.
    • The reviews aren't useful. The app was released today, the 5 star reviews are ad agencies and the 1 star reviews are people trolling Apple, likely Slashdot and Reddit users.

    • by Skater ( 41976 )
      Personally, I'm glad there's competition - it keeps both of them getting better. I missed the "back" button on Android on my iPhone, but I see iOS 9 is will have that functionality, so good. (I guess there's actually 4 competitors - Windows phone and Blackberry - but iOS and Android are the leaders.)
    • by Nemyst ( 1383049 )
      From what I can tell, the app seems to do as it says and helps you move your data to iOS. I think the biggest reason for the criticism is that such an app would have a snowball's chance in hell of being approved on iOS for moving the other way around.
  • by dav1dc ( 2662425 ) on Thursday September 17, 2015 @02:53PM (#50543249) Homepage

    Sadly, after reading the article - this appears to be an indication of the level of "iOS Hate[rs]" in the Andriod community, rather than a cogent assessment of the application's quality or ease of use.

    I'm almost certain most of the 1-star reviews come from people who recently made the jump in the other direction, from iOS -> Android.

    • I'm almost certain most of the 1-star reviews come from people who recently made the jump in the other direction, from iOS -> Android.

      I wouldn't assume rabid fanbois for either platform are recent converts.

  • I am going into my nearby church later today and I am going to put up a poster for a different church of a very different sect that is just down the road. I wonder how that is going to go?
    • I don't know. Back when I was in Sunday School at a Congregationist church, they spent a year showing us all sorts of different Christian denominations.

  • I mean, if the point of it is to move your content from an android phone to an ios phone, then that would require that you actually *have* an ios phone to move the content to.... and most of the reviews that I saw looked like they were from people that wouldn't touch an iphone with the metaphorical 10 foot pole, so I suspect they didn't actually try the app out, but are simply utilizing the review process to diss Apple.

    Not that I'm suggesting that Apple isn't necessarily deserving of dissing, but if that

  • You want to impress us with your collection of H1B slaves? Have them write an OpenGL app in iOS, and Android; then have them compare the respective sources. Then submit the results, and sources to SlashDot. Or was the Joker right about your reproductive systems?

"Truth never comes into the world but like a bastard, to the ignominy of him that brought her birth." -- Milton

Working...