Slashdot Items Tagged "ios"

Date / Time Story
Tuesday December 12, 2017 @09:00AM Apple's Alleged Throttling of Older iPhones With Degraded Batteries Causes Controversy
Monday December 11, 2017 @04:56PM Apple Buys Shazam To Boost Apple Music
Monday December 11, 2017 @12:59PM Google Releases Tool To Help iPhone Hackers
Sunday December 10, 2017 @04:57PM Top iOS Apps of 2017: Bitmoji Beats Snapchat, YouTube, and Facebook Messenger
Friday December 08, 2017 @05:00PM Zero-Day iOS HomeKit Vulnerability Allowed Remote Access To Smart Accessories Including Locks
Wednesday December 06, 2017 @04:37PM Apple Issues Security Updates for MacOS, iOS, TvOS, WatchOS, and Safari
Thursday November 30, 2017 @11:43AM Microsoft's Edge Browser Now Generally Available For iOS, Android
Monday November 27, 2017 @04:24PM iPhone Users Complain About the Word 'It' Autocorrecting To 'I.T' On iOS 11 and Later
Monday November 27, 2017 @01:40PM Two Major Cydia Hosts Shut Down as Jailbreaking Fades in Popularity
Friday November 17, 2017 @10:04AM iOS 11 'Is Still Just Buggy as Hell'
Monday November 13, 2017 @07:00PM Apple Could Launch Two New Full-Screen iPhones Next Year
Wednesday November 08, 2017 @01:22AM iOS 11 Passes 50 Percent Adoption In Under 2 Months
Tuesday November 07, 2017 @06:33PM A Huge Redesign Is Coming To Snapchat
Sunday November 05, 2017 @09:28AM An iOS 11.1 Glitch Is Replacing Vowels
Tuesday October 31, 2017 @03:18PM Apple Uses Machine Learning To Chronicle All the Bra Pics On Your iPhone
Friday October 27, 2017 @01:23PM If You Type 1+2+3 Into Your iPhone's Calculator on iOS 11, You Probably Won't Get 6
Monday October 16, 2017 @03:38PM Apple To Appeal Five-Year-Long Patent Battle After $439.7 Million Loss
Friday October 13, 2017 @05:01PM Latest iOS Update Shows Apple Can Use Software To Break Phones Repaired By Independent Shops
Tuesday October 10, 2017 @09:03AM Security Researcher Finds a Fundamental Flaw in iOS
Monday October 09, 2017 @01:09PM Slashdot Asks: Does the World Need a Third Mobile OS?
Friday October 06, 2017 @06:10PM Apple Doesn't Deliberately Slow Down Older Devices According To Benchmark Analysis
Friday October 06, 2017 @11:09AM iOS 11's Misleading 'Off-ish' Setting For Bluetooth and Wi-Fi is Bad for User Security
Thursday October 05, 2017 @03:41PM Uber's iOS App Had Secret Permissions That Allowed It to Copy Your Phone Screen, Researchers Say
Thursday October 05, 2017 @10:07AM Microsoft Brings Edge To Android and IOS
Saturday September 30, 2017 @12:44AM Apple is Really Bad At Design
Monday September 25, 2017 @12:56PM Apple Replaces Bing With Google as Search Engine For Siri and Spotlight
Monday September 25, 2017 @11:32AM iOS 11 Is Causing Massive Battery Drain Problems
Friday September 22, 2017 @08:20PM Apple's Swift 4.0 Includes A Compatibility Mode For 'The Majority' Of Swift 3.x Code
Thursday September 21, 2017 @02:53PM Firefox For iOS Gets Tracking Protection, Firefox Focus For Android Gets Tabs
Wednesday September 20, 2017 @01:02PM Turning Off Wi-Fi and Bluetooth in iOS 11's Control Center Doesn't Actually Turn Off Wi-Fi or Bluetooth
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @03:01PM iOS 11 Released
Monday September 18, 2017 @10:20AM Apple Officially Bans Scammy Antivirus Apps From iOS App Store
Tuesday September 12, 2017 @03:30PM BlueBorne Vulnerabilities Impact Over 5 Billion Bluetooth-Enabled Devices
Tuesday September 12, 2017 @01:39PM Apple Announces iPhone X With Edge-To-Edge Display, Wireless Charging and No Home Button
Monday September 11, 2017 @11:03PM Equifax's App Has Disappeared From Apple's App Store and Google Play
Sunday September 03, 2017 @11:21AM Is Apple Copying Palm's WebOS?
Wednesday August 30, 2017 @05:00PM Uber Says It'll Stop Tracking Riders After They're Dropped Off
Thursday August 24, 2017 @12:17PM AccuWeather Updates Its iOS App To Address Privacy Outcry
Tuesday August 22, 2017 @11:40AM Popular Weather App AccuWeather Caught Sending User Location Data, Even When Location Sharing is Off
Thursday August 17, 2017 @05:21PM iOS 11 Has a Feature To Temporarily Disable Touch ID
Thursday August 17, 2017 @03:36PM Hacker Claims To Have Decrypted Apple's Secure Enclave Processor Firmware
Tuesday August 15, 2017 @04:01PM App Developers Should Charge More If They Want People To Buy Subscriptions, Suggests Report
Saturday August 12, 2017 @02:34PM iOS 10 Quietly Deprecated A Crucial API For VoIP and Communication Apps
Wednesday August 09, 2017 @09:12AM Developers Explain Why iOS Apps Are Getting Bulkier
Monday August 07, 2017 @02:09PM YouTube Adds Mobile Chat, Because Google Doesn't Have Enough Messaging Apps
Tuesday August 01, 2017 @08:31PM Are App Sizes Out of Control?
Tuesday August 01, 2017 @02:48PM New iPhone To Have Tap to Wake, Attention Detection, and Virtual Home Button, Says Report
Monday July 31, 2017 @04:05PM Microsoft's Windows Phone Keyboard For the iPhone Is Dead
Friday July 28, 2017 @08:37PM Appocalypse Now - How iOS11 Will Kill Some Of Your Favourite iPhone Apps
Monday July 24, 2017 @05:34PM iOS 11 Will Prevent Your iPhone From Automatically Connecting To Unreliable Wi-Fi Networks
Thursday July 20, 2017 @03:30PM Public Service Announcement: You Should Not Force Quit Apps on iOS
Thursday June 29, 2017 @04:41PM Google Photos 3.0 Released, Bringing Smarter Sharing, Suggestions and Shared Libraries
Monday June 26, 2017 @03:40PM Apple Releases First Public Beta Of iOS 11 for iPhone and iPad
Tuesday June 13, 2017 @05:38AM Chess.com Has Stopped Working On 32bit iPads After the Site Hit 2^31 Game Sessions
Monday June 12, 2017 @05:16PM Report Reveals In-App Purchase Scams In the App Store
Monday June 12, 2017 @05:17AM Apple's App Store Guidelines Now Allow Executable Code in Educational Apps and Developer Tools
Friday June 09, 2017 @04:12PM App Store Now Requires Developers To Use Official API To Request App Ratings, Disallows Custom Prompts
Friday June 09, 2017 @01:17PM Pepe Is Banned From the Apple App Store
Wednesday June 07, 2017 @04:17PM Apple To Force Users To 2FA On iOS 11, macOS High Sierra
Tuesday June 06, 2017 @04:44PM Apple Adds Support For FLAC Lossless Audio In iOS 11
Monday June 05, 2017 @04:30PM Apple Announces New 10.5-Inch iPad Pro With Narrower Side Bezels, 120Hz Refresh Rate Display
Monday June 05, 2017 @03:52PM Apple Announces Native HEVC Support In MacOS High Sierra and iOS 11
Monday June 05, 2017 @03:35PM Apple's New iOS File Manager Coming This Fall As Part of iOS 11
Monday June 05, 2017 @09:04AM Apple Piles On the Features, and Users Say, 'Enough!'
Thursday June 01, 2017 @10:19AM App Store Earnings For Developers Exceed $70 Billion; App Downloads Up 70% YoY
Monday May 29, 2017 @11:13AM PC Market Could Return To Growth in 2019
Saturday May 27, 2017 @06:54PM Opera Slows Its Development On The iOS Platform
Saturday May 27, 2017 @06:50PM Opera Says Their iOS Updates Are Still Coming - Just Slowly
Thursday May 25, 2017 @04:19PM Facebook's Instant Articles Platform To Support Google AMP, Apple News
Thursday May 25, 2017 @03:52PM T-Mobile's 'Digits' Program Revamps the Phone Number
Thursday May 18, 2017 @03:22PM Google Launches Google Assistant On the iPhone
Thursday May 18, 2017 @10:27AM App Maker's Code Stolen in Malware Attack
Monday May 15, 2017 @02:15PM Apple Releases macOS 10.12.5, iOS 10.3.2, watchOS 3.2.2, tvOS 10.2.1
Monday May 15, 2017 @02:39AM Slashdot Asks: In the Wake Of Ransomware Attacks, Should Tech Companies Change Policies To Support Older OSs Indefinitely?
Friday May 12, 2017 @01:25PM Google Maps Now Uses Street View To Show You Exactly Where To Make Turns
Friday May 12, 2017 @08:11AM Microsoft Is Surprisingly Comfortable With Its New Place In a Mobile, Apple, and Android World
Tuesday May 02, 2017 @02:41PM Apple AirPods Customers 'Satisfied' With the Product
Wednesday March 29, 2017 @09:14AM What Killed Adobe Flash?
Monday March 27, 2017 @01:24PM Apple is Upgrading Millions of iOS Devices To a New Modern File System Today
Thursday March 23, 2017 @04:52PM Apple Explores Using An iPhone, iPad To Power a Laptop
Thursday March 23, 2017 @10:47AM WikiLeaks' New Dump Shows How The CIA Allegedly Hacked Macs and iPhones Almost a Decade Ago
Wednesday March 22, 2017 @03:21PM Hackers Claim Access To 300 Million iCloud Accounts, Demand $75,000 From Apple To Delete the Cache of Data
Monday March 20, 2017 @03:00PM Google Maps Lets You Record Your Parking Location, Time Left At the Meter
Friday March 10, 2017 @03:24PM MAC Address Randomization Flaws Leave Android and iOS Phones Open To Tracking
Wednesday March 08, 2017 @03:09PM Apple Says It's Already Fixed Many WikiLeaks Security Issues
Wednesday March 01, 2017 @12:53AM AOL Is Cutting Off Third-Party App Access To AIM
Wednesday February 22, 2017 @01:55PM iPhone Owners in US Spent $40 Each on Apps in 2016
Thursday February 16, 2017 @10:39PM 99.6 Percent of New Smartphones Run Android or iOS
Monday February 06, 2017 @11:25PM Dozens of Popular iOS Apps Vulnerable To Intercept of TLS-Protected Data
Friday February 03, 2017 @03:24PM Lawsuit Claims Apple Forced Users To iOS 7 By Breaking FaceTime
Wednesday February 01, 2017 @07:15AM The Future of iOS is 64-Bit Only -- Apple To Stop Support For 32-Bit Apps
Tuesday January 31, 2017 @02:20PM Google Open-Sources Chrome For iOS
Friday January 27, 2017 @09:25AM Ask Slashdot: A Point of Contention - Modern User Interfaces
Tuesday January 24, 2017 @03:26PM Apple Will Finally Let Developers Respond To App Store Reviews
Monday January 16, 2017 @09:35AM China Orders App Stores To Join Register
Friday January 13, 2017 @11:15PM Tor Onion Browser's Creator Explains Free Version For iOS
Sunday January 08, 2017 @01:11AM Apple Could Finally Sell More Devices Than Microsoft In 2017
Friday January 06, 2017 @04:06PM Original iPhone Prototype With iPod Click Wheel Surfaces Online
Friday January 06, 2017 @03:42PM Fake Malware-Filled Super Mario Run Apps Take Advantage of Android Absence
Thursday January 05, 2017 @09:42AM Apple App Store Developers Earned $20 Billion in 2016, Up 40 Percent Year Over Year
Saturday December 31, 2016 @04:59PM Google and Facebook Dominate The List of 2016's Top Ten Apps
Friday December 23, 2016 @05:57PM BitTorrent Live's 'Cable Killer' P2P Video App Finally Hits iOS
Friday December 23, 2016 @02:55AM Leaked Files Reveal Scope of Cellebrite's Smartphone-Cracking Technology
Thursday December 22, 2016 @03:16PM Pokemon Go Arrives On the Apple Watch
Tuesday December 20, 2016 @04:28PM AT&T Is Adding a Spam Filter For Phone Calls
Monday December 19, 2016 @06:05PM Mark Zuckerberg Demos Jarvis, His Own Home AI Assistant
Monday December 19, 2016 @04:02PM Facebook Messenger Launches 6-Screen Group Video Chat
Thursday December 15, 2016 @03:38PM Super Mario Run Is Now Available
Tuesday December 13, 2016 @03:47PM Florida Court Says Suspected Voyeur Must Reveal His iPhone Passcode To Police
Tuesday December 06, 2016 @05:32PM Apple Launches Single Sign-On Service To Make Logging Into TV Apps Less Time-Consuming
Tuesday December 06, 2016 @03:58PM Apple Says Air Exposure Is Causing iPhone 6s Battery Problems
Friday December 02, 2016 @11:54PM iOS's 'Activation Lock' For Stolen iPads And iPhones Can Be Easily Bypassed
Thursday December 01, 2016 @05:42PM Apple Will Use Drones To Improve the Quality of Apple Maps
Thursday December 01, 2016 @12:39AM Wielding Their Windows Phones, Microsoft Shareholders Grill CEO Satya Nadella On Device Strategy
Friday November 25, 2016 @10:40PM Apple Is Working With LG On Next-Gen 3D Camera For 2017 iPhone, Says Report
Wednesday November 23, 2016 @03:36PM Microsoft Solitaire Collection From Windows 10 Now Available For Android and iOS
Tuesday November 22, 2016 @05:55PM Malicious Video Link Can Cause Any iOS Device To Freeze
Thursday November 17, 2016 @05:04PM iOS Devices Failed More Often Than Android Units During Q3, Says Report
Thursday November 17, 2016 @03:48PM Mozilla Launches Firefox Focus, a Stripped-Down Private Browser For iOS
Monday November 14, 2016 @10:47AM Samsung Really, Really Wants Developers To Build Tizen Apps
Thursday November 10, 2016 @03:52PM Instagram Brings Mentions, Links, and Boomerang To Stories
Wednesday November 09, 2016 @07:49PM iOS WebView Bug Can Force iPhones To Make Calls While UI Freezes
Monday November 07, 2016 @04:33PM Gmail's iPhone App Now Has 'Undo Send' and Faster Search
Friday November 04, 2016 @02:23PM Apple Takes 104 Percent of All Smartphone Profits Following Galaxy Note 7 Recall
Wednesday November 02, 2016 @05:02PM LastPass On Mobile Is Now Free
Tuesday November 01, 2016 @11:35PM Facebook Officially Announces Gameroom, Its PC Steam Competitor
Tuesday November 01, 2016 @05:56PM Google Security Engineer Claims Android Is Now As Secure As the iPhone
Tuesday November 01, 2016 @04:05PM Instagram's New Shoppable Photos Are a Glimpse At Its E-Commerce Future
Saturday October 29, 2016 @12:01PM Google's 'Project Zero' Hid A Major Vulnerability in Apple's OS and iOS Cores
Saturday October 29, 2016 @09:43AM Teenager Accidentally Launches DDoS Attack On 911 Systems
Thursday October 27, 2016 @05:26PM Apple's New MacBook Pro Requires a $25 Dongle To Charge Your iOS Device
Thursday October 27, 2016 @12:29AM WhatsApp Is Rolling Out Video Calls On Its Android App
Wednesday October 26, 2016 @06:59PM Delta Now Lets You Track Your Baggage In Real-Time
Tuesday October 25, 2016 @03:30PM Apple Has Created 'Detailed Mockups' of iMessage For Android
Monday October 24, 2016 @03:31PM Apple Releases iOS 10.1 With New Portrait Mode For iPhone 7 Plus
Saturday October 08, 2016 @06:26PM Class Action Lawsuit Grows Over iPhone 6 Plus 'Touch Disease'
Friday October 07, 2016 @04:16PM A French Company is Suing Apple To Open the iPhone To Rival Browsing Engines
Friday October 07, 2016 @03:27PM FBI Looks Into Unlocking Minnesota Mall Stabber's iPhone
Wednesday October 05, 2016 @06:51PM Apple CEO Tim Cook Remembers Steve Jobs On Fifth Anniversary of His Death
Saturday October 01, 2016 @05:52PM Microsoft Could Bring Windows Hello To Android, iPhone
Tuesday September 27, 2016 @06:07PM Aetna To Provide Apple Watch To 50,000 Employees, Subsidize Cost For Customers
Thursday September 22, 2016 @03:19PM 19-Year-Old Jailbreaks iPhone 7 In 24 Hours
Wednesday September 21, 2016 @01:56AM Google Allo Messaging App Launches For iOS and Android
Monday September 19, 2016 @03:50PM Google Launches 'Google Trips' Personalized Travel Planner
Friday September 16, 2016 @10:01PM iPhone 7 Home Button Now Requires Skin Contact To Work
Thursday September 15, 2016 @03:00PM T-Mobile To iPhone Users: Do Not Download iOS 10 For Now
Thursday September 15, 2016 @01:21PM iOS 10 Is Surfacing Hardcore Porn GIFs in iMessage
Tuesday September 13, 2016 @03:30PM Pokemon Go's Paying Population Drops By 79% -- Still Most Profitable Mobile App In The US
Monday September 12, 2016 @11:15PM Instagram Rolls Out 'Keyword Moderation Tool' That Will Filter Out Offensive Comments
Friday September 09, 2016 @08:23PM Apple iPhone 7 Plus Packs 3GB RAM, Early A10 Fusion Benchmarks Look Very Strong
Thursday September 08, 2016 @12:27AM Super Mario Is Coming To The iPhone
Wednesday September 07, 2016 @06:28PM Apple Cites 'Courage' As Reason To Remove 3.5mm Headphone Jack
Wednesday September 07, 2016 @03:34PM Apple Announces Apple Watch Series 2 With GPS, Water-Resistance and Faster Performance
Tuesday September 06, 2016 @08:40PM LG Introduces The V20, The First Android Nougat Smartphone
Tuesday September 06, 2016 @05:53PM Apple To Unveil 'AirPods' That Use Custom Bluetooth Chip
Monday September 05, 2016 @02:32PM Apple Hikes Order Volume For iPhone 7 Parts In Wake of Samsung Recall
Sunday September 04, 2016 @06:43PM Microsoft Helps Develop Smart, IoT-Enabled Refrigerators
Saturday September 03, 2016 @11:12PM These Are the Six Crypto-Currencies Approved By Apple
Thursday September 01, 2016 @02:48PM Apple To Remove Abandoned Apps From The App Store
Thursday August 25, 2016 @05:47PM Apple Patenting a Way To Collect Fingerprints, Photos of Thieves
Thursday August 25, 2016 @02:19PM iPhones and iPads Fail More Often Than Android Smartphones
Monday August 22, 2016 @09:53AM Apple, Samsung Capture All Of Industry's Smartphone Profits
Thursday August 18, 2016 @03:42PM iOS and Android Combined For Record 99% of Smartphone Sales Last Quarter
Monday August 15, 2016 @03:47PM Tim Cook: Privacy Is Worth Protecting
Monday August 15, 2016 @02:42PM Serious Flaws In iMessage Crypto Allow For Message Decryption
Friday August 12, 2016 @10:34PM Google Working On New 'Fuchsia' OS
Thursday August 11, 2016 @07:13PM Cracking The Code On Trump Tweets
Wednesday August 10, 2016 @11:03AM Zero-Day Hunters Will Pay Over Twice as Much as Apple's New Bug Bounty Programme
Monday August 08, 2016 @11:49PM Report: Apple Watch 2 Coming Late 2016 With GPS, Faster Processor and Better Waterproofing
Monday August 08, 2016 @03:19PM Iran Bans Pokemon Go Over 'Security Concerns'
Friday August 05, 2016 @06:20PM Waze's New Safety Feature Reminds Drivers Not To Forget Their Child In the Car
Monday August 01, 2016 @06:15PM Apple Replaces The Pistol Emoji With A Water Gun
Friday July 29, 2016 @03:06PM SwiftKey Bug Leaked Email Addresses, Phone Numbers To Strangers
Wednesday July 27, 2016 @04:17PM Office 365 Gets New Word, PowerPoint and Outlook Features
Tuesday July 26, 2016 @04:43PM Apple Q3 Earnings: iPhone Sales Continue To Slide, But Apple Beats Estimates
Friday July 22, 2016 @03:04PM Apple: Pokemon Go Sets Record For Most Downloads In Its First Week
Thursday July 21, 2016 @03:41PM Apple To Make $3 Billion From Pokemon Go
Thursday July 21, 2016 @12:58PM Apple Patches Stagefright-Like Bug In IOS
Tuesday July 19, 2016 @04:34PM MIT's Ori Robotic Modular Furniture Is Designed To Make Small Places Feel More Roomy
Tuesday July 19, 2016 @03:26PM Safari Browser May Soon Be Just As Fast As Chrome With WebP Integration
Tuesday July 19, 2016 @03:09PM Pokemon Go Doubles Nintendo's Stock Price
Tuesday July 19, 2016 @12:46PM Army Special Operations Command Ditching Android For iPhone, Says Report
Tuesday July 19, 2016 @01:04AM Facebook's Android App Can Now Save Offline Videos
Monday July 18, 2016 @05:27PM BuzzFeed and Washington Post To Use Robots For RNC Coverage
Monday July 18, 2016 @04:03PM Hacking Group 'OurMine' Claims Credit For Attack On Pokemon Go Servers
Monday July 18, 2016 @01:43PM Slashdot Asks: Do You Install Preview Version Of An OS On Your Primary Device?
Wednesday July 13, 2016 @09:33PM Apple Launching Reality TV Show Called 'Planet of the Apps'
Wednesday July 13, 2016 @04:01PM Pokemon Go Becomes Biggest Mobile Game In US History
Monday July 11, 2016 @04:29PM PSA: Pokemon Go Has Full Access To Your Google Account Data
Sunday July 10, 2016 @09:26PM Ask Slashdot: How Often Do You Switch Programming Languages?
Friday July 08, 2016 @07:34PM Nintendo Stock Price Up 9% After Pokemon Go Launch
Thursday July 07, 2016 @10:28AM Apple To Release Public Betas of iOS 10 and macOS Sierra Today
Wednesday July 06, 2016 @04:02AM 'New Way of Stealing Cars': Hacking Them With A Laptop
Tuesday July 05, 2016 @03:31PM Apple To Encourage Organ Donation With Health App
Friday July 01, 2016 @01:09PM Apple Slams Spotify For Asking For 'Preferential Treatment'
Thursday June 30, 2016 @07:59PM Facebook To Shred 'Paper' News-Reading App On July 29th
Thursday June 30, 2016 @12:18PM Spotify Says Apple Won't Approve New Version Of Its App Because It Doesn't Want Competition For Apple Music
Tuesday June 28, 2016 @04:39PM Florida Man Sues Apple For $10+ Billion, Says He Invented iPhone Before Apple
Tuesday June 28, 2016 @02:55PM Apple Patents a Way To Keep People From Filming At Concerts and Movie Theaters
Monday June 27, 2016 @12:07PM .NET Core 1.0 Released, Now Officially Supported By Red Hat