Please create an account to participate in the Slashdot moderation system

 



Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Apple Technology

The New iPad Pro Review (twitter.com) 214

An anonymous reader writes: As tech reviewers across the United States and Europe sing praises of Apple's new iPad Pro, here's what Joshua Topolsky, former editor-in-chief of The Verge and Engadget (and now with The Outline) had to say: "It [10.5-inch iPad Pro] is inferior to a laptop in almost every way, unless you like to draw. If you think you can replace you laptop with this setup: you cannot. Imagine a computer, but everything works worse than you expect. That is the new iPad. Now, I know the software is in beta, but I also know how Apple betas work. They don't massively change. I have no doubt it's a very powerful piece of hardware, and the screen is gorgeous. Garageband is a lot of fun to play with. But this doesn't COME CLOSE to replacing your laptop, even for simple things you do, like email. AND one other thing. Apple's keyboard cover is a fucking atrocity. A terrible piece of hardware. Awkward to use, poor as a cover. Okay in a pinch if you need something LIKE a keyboard. Anyhow good to know there are still Apple fanboys who get mad if you insult their products. But I don't think it's a very good product. Finally, iOS 11 is definitely a STEP in the right direction. But guys the iPad has been around forever and it still feels half-assed. I think a lot of people are willing to contort themselves around a bad UX because marketing is powerful."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

The New iPad Pro Review

Comments Filter:
  • Perhaps because (Score:3, Informative)

    by guruevi ( 827432 ) <evi@e v c ircuits.com> on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @10:29AM (#54698565) Homepage

    It's not a laptop, it's a tablet and tablets are touch-based, keyboards are an afterthought and useful enough to type email on the go.

    • but it's priced like a laptop, not a tablet

      • by cayenne8 ( 626475 ) on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @12:08PM (#54699291) Homepage Journal

        but it's priced like a laptop, not a tablet

        I guess it is, if you buy cheap laptops...?

        I got mine a couple weeks ago, loaded up.

        So far, I'm pretty impressed. I've been working with RAW and DNG images on Affinity Photo and it works great.

        Getting used to a full blown image editing suite on a tablet, well that takes some getting used to, but so far, it doesn't blink with whatever I throw on it....

        I"m next about to try focus stacking about 10 DNG images next, that will give it a true test....

        I'm new to moving stuff from main workstation through cloud to tablet and back, I'm still trying t figure out that workflow, but so far, it works very well.

        I'm anticipating when the new iOS comes out, and you can do more "computer like" file manipulations, that this will help matters greatly.

        So far, the screen is amazing, the pencil works great, battery time is really surprising me to how long it lasts.....

        I'm impressed. I didn't get the keyboard, didn't figure I'd use it, after all, it *IS* a tablet and I seem to use it as one 99.9999% of the time.

        It is nice to be able to edit photos while at the neighborhood pool lounging around, or at a bar waiting on friends...

        I went 10.5"....best size for portability and you can get same hardware as larger one...

        • by Bongo ( 13261 )

          What people seem to be missing is that the iPad is not a laptop.

          But I get that. My mom still complains that I'm not Richard Branson married to Pamela Anderson.

      • but it's priced like a laptop, not a tablet

        So is the Surface.

        • Exactly, but the surface is a great ultra portable laptop (as long as you get the keyboard), unlike this iPad which performs nothing more than a tablet.

      • by guruevi ( 827432 )

        Depends on your definition of a 'good' laptop. Sure, I can buy yesteryears's models for $500 but for general use, I wouldn't recommend a sub-$1500 laptop.

        • The average price paid of a laptop must be around $700, and this is in rich countries.
          $1500 is the high end niche, power users.

    • by Anonymous Coward on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @10:55AM (#54698793)
      Apple isn't marketing it as just a tablet (and the iPads are fine tablets, I'm happy with mine), they're marketing it as a laptop/laptop replacement. It's only fair then to hold it to the same standard as its competitors in that same space. If you're going to say it can replace my mobile workstation you better make sure your keyboard is up to snuff.
      • Apple isn't marketing it as just a tablet (and the iPads are fine tablets, I'm happy with mine), they're marketing it as a laptop/laptop replacement. It's only fair then to hold it to the same standard as its competitors in that same space. If you're going to say it can replace my mobile workstation you better make sure your keyboard is up to snuff.

        Read the reviews of the Surface keyboard. It sucks balls.

        • You mean the Surface Cover that has 4.8 stars at Amazon, 4.6 stars at Best Buy, 4.5 at Walmart, etc?

          The one that is a full keyboard (including a high precision touchpad) and still managed to be twenty bucks cheaper than the Apple cover?

          • by torkus ( 1133985 )

            It still sucks. I'm using one right now.

            Sucks is relative though. They keyboard on the MBP is HORRIBLE even in comparison to this keyboard. The trackpad on this is...not the worst thing I've used but I've also had laptops that were 2+" thick and had the 'upgraded' 800x600 LCD. It's pretty bad.

            • It still sucks. I'm using one right now.

              Sucks is relative though. They keyboard on the MBP is HORRIBLE even in comparison to this keyboard. The trackpad on this is...not the worst thing I've used but I've also had laptops that were 2+" thick and had the 'upgraded' 800x600 LCD. It's pretty bad.

              Hmmm. The reviews on the 2016 MBP keyboard have been generally quite favorable. And as far as Trackpads go, no one comes even close to Apple.

              https://www.theverge.com/2016/... [theverge.com]

              • >The reviews on the 2016 MBP keyboard have been generally quite favorable.

                They seemed slightly bi-model. Some people including me and my wife hate the short key travel and general 'dead' feel of the keys. I kept my existing fully loaded MBP complete with ESC key and a decent enough keyboard.
                .

    • And when you try to use a tablet as a laptop replacement, it sucks, because for example the keyboard and mouse support is just wrong. There is no valid reason for this. A large number of powerpoint-based engineering decision makers need to burn in hell.

      • Actually on an MS Surface Pro, the keyboard and mouse work just fine. Probably because the OS is written with mouse support in mind. iOS on the other hand doesn't cater for mice.
        • Hence my suggestion below - put both Macs & iPads on the same CPU - the A series, so that people can buy Macs and enjoy all the native iOS apps that are out there. OS X should remain the OS, but now would have the capability of running those native. That way, the same apps would work in laptop as well as tablet environments

          • by imgod2u ( 812837 )

            Realistically, the CPU ISA isn't all that's holding back apps from running cross platform. The biggest difference would be the UI. Macs don't have a touchscreen and a mouse isn't a good replacement when it comes to gestures, which a lot of iOS apps use.

            A Surface-like multi-mode OS would work. But you'd have similar problems as the Surface in that a legacy OS like MacOS/Windows doesn't have some of the niceties of a mobile-first OS like iOS/Android when it comes to fast sleep, always-connected, push notifica

            • by Megane ( 129182 )
              The trackpad has supported gestures for years. I know this because I'm always turning them all off (I only use 2-finger scroll, which can't be disabled) when I set up a new OS install. The only difference is you don't have a finger between your eyes and what you're gesturing at.
        • by guruevi ( 827432 ) <evi@e v c ircuits.com> on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @02:13PM (#54700179) Homepage

          Actually, the MS Surface can't be properly used as a tablet because the OS is intended to be mouse-based control. You have to attach a keyboard/mouse to do basic things like setup a self-signed certificate. It's also not a very good laptop.

      • One more thing: I could use an iPad keyboard that had a separate numeric keypad on the right: I absolutely must have that, or typing is really uncomfortable

    • Apple needs to converge them: base them all on their A series line of CPUs, so that OS X and iOS run the same software. Then introduce touch screens on some (but not all) of their Macs, so that they have a complete lineup.

      Honestly, I don't see the point of the pro. I bought a mini w/ 128GB of storage, and am perfectly happy w/ it.

      • by guruevi ( 827432 )

        I can see the point of larger tablets in some environments like sales and demos. The bigger ones (of any brand) are not intended to be a "pocket device" so I wouldn't even call them "mobile" they're a tablet that you keep in your couch or on your work table or use as a mobile presentation tool.

  • by chispito ( 1870390 ) on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @10:32AM (#54698593)

    If you think you can replace you [sic] laptop with this setup: you cannot. Imagine a computer, but everything works worse than you expect. That is the new iPad.

    Okay so I was going to get all snarky about how, "duh, it's an iPad, what did you expect?" and then I saw Apple's marketing [apple.com].

    No matter the task, the new iPad Pro is up to it — and then some. It offers far more power than most PC laptops, yet is delightfully simple to use. The redesigned Retina display is as stunning to look at as it is to touch. And it all comes together with iOS, the world’s most advanced mobile operating system. iPad Pro. Everything you want modern computing to be. Now even, well, better.

    So kudos to someone previously associated with Engadget, of all places, to take Apple's marketing to task.

    • by El Cubano ( 631386 ) on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @10:49AM (#54698731)

      So kudos to someone previously associated with Engadget, of all places, to take Apple's marketing to task.

      Personally, I would have preferred that it read like an actual "review" instead of a "rant". I get that the marketing made some exaggerations and that the product is less than stellar. However, the tone of the whole thing is rather offputting. I don't need for someone to yell at me to convince me.

    • So kudos to someone previously associated with Engadget, of all places, to take Apple's marketing to task.

      Never take marketing seriously. They exaggerate. They can't not exaggerate. Or as the rest of us say, they lie.

    • Wow is it me or is that marketing really obnoxious?

      No matter the task, the new iPad Pro is up to it â" and then some. It offers far more power than most PC laptops, yet is delightfully simple to use.

      That seems incredibly unlikely to me. It only comes with 4G of RAM for a start. It's clearly not a substitute for my ancient W510, since I've got 16G of RAM in that and over a TB of flash in it these days, and I'm not really sure how a dual core 2.2 GHz ARM stacks up against a qudcore i7 1.7GHz. Probably no

      • No matter the task, the new iPad Pro is up to it -- and then some.

        Even if the task is developing a new app? I doubt Apple plans to allow a counterpart to AIDE [android-ide.com] any time soon.

  • Missing the point (Score:2, Insightful)

    by TheRaven64 ( 641858 )
    A review that's complaining that an iPad Pro is a bad laptop makes as much sense as one complaining it's a bad smartphone. It is not a laptop. It is not a replacement for a laptop, it is intended as a companion to a Mac. It's the more portable thing that you use when you want to be able to quickly take notes or reply to emails, but don't want a full laptop. I have an older iPad Pro and previously had an ASUS TransformerPad: I actually use the iPad (the Android tablet mostly sat on a shelf) because it is
    • by techno_dan ( 591398 ) on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @10:40AM (#54698653)
      But Apple advertises it as a replacement for your laptop. If they didn't, then the article is garbage, but Apple did, so fair game.
      • I know people who will do best on a tablet rather than a laptop. A tablet is perfectly good for mail. My wife pretty much gave up email on anything but her tablet, and she's computer-savvy. My mother-in-law doesn't really know how to use her computer, but can use a tablet. (We got her a cheap Android as an experiment, figuring we could get her a better tablet if it seemed like a good idea. So far, she's happy with what she has.) A tablet is well suited for the sort of person I would have recommended

        • Exactly. You are describing people who use it as a tablet, and not a replacement for a laptop. Typing long emails on the laptop is much easier and faster, as well as spreadsheets, complex documents, etc. are all easier on laptop that apple was saying their new tablet could replace.
          • by Altus ( 1034 )

            My parents replaced a laptop with a tablet and it does everything they need. I have a work provided laptop and I find that at home, when not doing coding, my iPad is more than sufficient for most daily computing and its not even one of these pro's.

            What you are complaining about here is that it is not a replacement for a PRO laptop... a 4 core monster that can run photoshop or final cut like its nothing.... and thats fair, its not really build to be a replacement for a PRO laptop... but as an alternative to

        • How do you download and store your email on a tablet? How do you archive them and zip them up? O wait, you dont. You access it like a mainframe and have no local anything. We are back to mainframes, greeeeeeaaaattt. Your argument would be better if the Ipad went back to the mac directly instead of routing through Cupertino first.
      • by guruevi ( 827432 )

        No they don't, they market that it has more power than a PC laptop, they are not marketing it as a MacBook replacement (they don't market against their own line).

        It's like saying that your motorcycle has more horsepower than a cheap car. This may be true, but it doesn't make it a car.

    • A review that's complaining that an iPad Pro is a bad laptop makes as much sense as one complaining it's a bad smartphone. It is not a laptop. It is not a replacement for a laptop, it is intended as a companion to a Mac.

      If the intent it to be a companion device then it is a failure from the word go. Honestly there is really nothing an iPad does adequately well currently that my iPhone doesn't handle which is why I haven't bought an iPad despite repeated hard looks at doing so. It COULD be useful for note taking and drawing but the software available for that to date sucks sour frog ass. They seem to think everyone who picks up one of their idiotically designed Apple Pencils is a graphic artist who spends their days sket

    • It is not a laptop. It is not a replacement for a laptop, it is intended as a companion to a Mac.

      Except that already exists, it's called an "ipad". What you're saying is that the Ipad Pro is positioning itself between a tablet and a laptop. It's a companion for your tablet and laptop. Great sell me 3 things.

      Or you can just use a Surface. The only thing the ipad pro has going for it is a larger touch optimized app store. From a hardware perspective and from an OS perspective Windows/Surface is already to the point where there is no reason to have a "companion device" to your laptop and carry tw

  • If I'm looking to use it to replace a laptop, sure, this review may be spot on. The review tweets seem to be written as that is the tablet's sole purpose.

    Disregarding the absolutist blinders, it seems like a pretty powerful and useful tablet. As products go, it is the only Apple product that I have been tempted to buy.

  • Anti-apple product bashing such as this just simply won't work here on /. The formula to stick to is to link to an article that praises the worst piece of apple-crap ever as the most awe-inspiring and amazing gadget ever created. Then let the comments slag it off.

    Oh, and we like an actual article to ignore, not just a mobile twitter link.

    • Meh... I'm an Apple Fanboy, sitting in front of a brand new 27" iMac. I thought about getting the new iPad Pro (not for what the iMac is for), but I tried typing on the keypad and hated it... so I'll hang on to my 1st generation iPad Air for a while longer.

      But, I do understand that people's needs are different. I can do most of my work easily enough from a tablet, until I get into writing a heavy document or thinking about opening a spreadsheet.

      I tend to agree with the assessment that it is not a suitable

      • And even the original iPad has Bluetooth keyboard support. For that matter, it will support the very same keyboard you probably use with your iMac. Keyboard cases are overrated. If you have room somewhere to set down the tablet and the keyboard, then you can probably easily carry the keyboard separately anyway.

      • When I had to run all my software everywhere I went, I had a MacBook Pro - one of the good ones, 17" with all the ports. Given my current pared-down road requirements, I use an iMac in the office plus an iPad on the road, for about the same price. Much less mobile hassle.

  • where is the love? (Score:4, Interesting)

    by PopeRatzo ( 965947 ) on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @10:44AM (#54698681) Journal

    I just wish Apple would make a tablet that will run one of the professional music production platforms, like Pro Tools or even Logic Pro X. This is an area where the PC tablets and hybrids are light years ahead of Apple. Considering Apple was a pioneer in tools for artists, I'm surprised they haven't made this a priority.

    • And then you'd need a dongle for the audio interface and a way to connect external storage. By that point, you've made it a computer again. Multitrack audio gets large fast - especially if you record in a higher sample rate and only resample down for the final mix.

      • Multitrack audio gets large fast - especially if you record in a higher sample rate

        I can see the advantage of 24-bit sample depth for intermediate recordings. But what's the advantage of recording at more than 48 kHz sample rate? A 48 kHz sample can perfectly reconstruct signals up to just below 24 kHz, and the ear can't hear frequencies above 24 kHz. Why record what will just get filtered out?

        • what's the advantage of recording at more than 48 kHz sample rate?

          That's why you downmix at the end. Think about it like editing a photo. If you have a 20MP photo, you do all your edits to that before you downsample to 1000 pixels wide. If you resize first and then apply effects at the final output resolution, any artifacts or noise will show up in the final output. If you apply those effects at the full size, those artifacts will all be invisible by the time you resample down to your output size.

          In audio production, you often apply half a dozen DSP effects or more to

        • But what's the advantage of recording at more than 48 kHz sample rate?

          Sound designers and music producers use plug-ins to manipulate sounds. If you're going to sample a sound and then pitch it down for example, you would definitely want it to have been recorded at a higher sample rate. Also, having samplers and plug-ins work at higher sample rates can definitely be audible. But you're right, 48k (or 44.1k) rates are perfectly adequate for most simple sound recording and playback.

      • And then you'd need a dongle for the audio interface and a way to connect external storage. By that point, you've made it a computer again.

        Apple is already selling the iPad Pro as "more powerful than a PC" and a "computer for everything".

        I would like to think "more powerful than" means "can do more". If it doesn't, then what does it mean?

        And then you'd need a dongle

        Suck dongles already exist. When I do field recording or performance control with my Surface Pro, I have to plug it into something. The diff

        • Does iPad Pro even properly support external storage in a way that lets apps access it natively? I know this is solved for the Surface Pro - it's a real computer.

          • Does iPad Pro even properly support external storage in a way that lets apps access it natively?

            I have no idea any more. After iPad 3, I gave up on Apple as a platform for pro music production. It's a shame too, because I would love to use Logic Pro again despite it's ridiculous price. In 2012, I bought my last Mac Pro and now use only Windows and Linux for music production and sound design.

  • t [iPad Pro] is inferior to a laptop in almost every way, unless you like to draw. If you think you can replace you laptop with this setup: you cannot.

    This is true but irrelevant. A laptop still can't completely replace a desktop computer, which is why I still have a desktop, but for most people it is good enough. I was consulting when laptops and PDA became popular, and I spent a lot of time explaining what they could and could not do. It was important to keep it neutral because some people either ha

    • by swb ( 14022 )

      I still think the original "half moon" receiver was outstanding design from an ergonomics perspective, providing a simple solution for being able to hear the caller and speak directly into the microphone.

      I'm not sure why you think this was a bad solution for old car telephones. The user already knows how to use it and it uses an existing component already being mass-produced.

      I'd wager a good chunk of cell phone driving problems isn't the distraction from talking on the phone, but the clusterfuck of a tiny

  • by nine-times ( 778537 ) <nine.times@gmail.com> on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @10:52AM (#54698759) Homepage

    Anyhow good to know there are still Apple fanboys who get mad if you insult their products.

    First, a statement like this has no place in a technology review. Even if we were to assume this is true, it's a criticism of people, not the product.

    Second, this just isn't a review. It's some guy's angry twitter rant.

    Third, his complaints seem to be that the iPad isn't a laptop. And he's right. It's not a laptop. If you want a laptop, you should get a laptop.

    Finally, his assessment is that iOS 11 is "a step in the right direction.

    Given all of his complaining, I think the take-away here is strangely positive. It reminds me of a review that I read once that gave a Brooklyn restaurant zero stars, saying, "Although the food was really great, it was filled with a bunch of young hipsters, and I hate hipsters." -- to which I wanted to respond, "So you're saying food is great?"

    Well this guy is saying that although it's a step in the right direction, he doesn't like working on tablets because he wants a good physical keyboard. -- to which I want to respond, "So you're saying it's an improvement over previous iPads? Like... for anyone who thought that previous iPads were pretty good, this one is even better?"

    • Third, his complaints seem to be that the iPad isn't a laptop. And he's right. It's not a laptop. If you want a laptop, you should get a laptop.

      Then maybe Apple shouldn't advertise the fact that this device should replace your laptop. The deserve to be called out on their marketing as much as their product, especially when the product fails utterly given the premise of the marketing.

      Second, this just isn't a review. It's some guy's angry twitter rant.

      What is a review if not an opinion of a person? The fact he's angry has no bearing on it.

      Even if we were to assume this is true, it's a criticism of people, not the product.

      Yes, Apple users should get an entire review dedicated to them. *Dons my asbestos overcoat*

      Given all of his complaining, I think the take-away here is strangely positive. It reminds me of a review that I read once that gave a Brooklyn restaurant zero stars, saying, "Although the food was really great, it was filled with a bunch of young hipsters, and I hate hipsters." -- to which I wanted to respond, "So you're saying food is great?"

      And if you buy food to eat elsewhere that would be a valid WTF comment about the review. B

      • Then maybe Apple shouldn't advertise the fact that this device should replace your laptop. The deserve to be called out on their marketing as much as their product, especially when the product fails utterly given the premise of the marketing.

        For most of us on this site, it isn't. For people like my parents they never needed a laptop anyway. They are fine with tablets like Androids and iPads.

        What is a review if not an opinion of a person? The fact he's angry has no bearing on it.

        Well as a former editor, the guy knows how to write a review or an opinion piece that is more than 140 characters at a time. A series of tweets seems to be more of a spontaneous reaction than a thoughtful review.

        Yes, Apple users should get an entire review dedicated to them. *Dons my asbestos overcoat*

        Which is contrary to the point of reviewing the product.

        And if you buy food to eat elsewhere that would be a valid WTF comment about the review. But a restaurant is far more than just its food. Just like a supposed replacement for my laptop which can't do everything the laptop can do is far more than the OS it comes installed with.

        The problem is you seemed to ignore that the 0 stars ignored the food which is probably the

      • Then maybe Apple shouldn't advertise the fact that this device should replace your laptop.

        I mostly agree with you there. For some people, an iPad can replace their laptop. I think what they're trying to advertise is that the hardware is becoming powerful enough to compete with laptops in terms of processing power, not necessarily in terms of total functionality. However, the claim is vague and potentially misleading, at best.

        What is a review if not an opinion of a person? The fact he's angry has no bearing on it.

        Well, first, if a review of a new product goes beyond pointing out flaws in the product, into a realm where you can tell the reviewer is angry, it's no longer really a pr

  • My favorite app is an alarm clock with an air raid siren that wakes me up at 4:30AM Monday through Friday. I don't need an iPad Pro to be an air raid siren.
    • by mccalli ( 323026 )
      I'm using an iPad 2 as a digital radio, via the TuneIn app and sat on a JBL speaker dock. Works well and is more functional than most digital radios you can get, plus I can still use youtube, look up a few things on Safari if necessary and it has reminders/calendar etc.. Makes a good kitchen 'computer'.
  • by Camembert ( 2891457 ) on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @11:41AM (#54699095)
    Bought it last weekend as a replacement of my fossilised ipad 2
    Use case will mainly be typical tablet use, also for watching a movie while cycling in the gym. And on holidays I plan to be editing/finetuning my dslr pictures and possibly videos of the day on it. A glass of beer or wine while editing photos, yes that is holiday to me.
    First impression is good actually. It won't replace my macbook but many daily activities work well on it. The screen is absolutely wonderful, the high refresh rate is noticeably smoother and the colours are great. It is obviously very quick on today's apps. The general use while the ipad is mounted standing on the keyboard cover is not ideal. I find the touch screen more ergonomic if it is lying flat.
  • by ThomasBHardy ( 827616 ) on Tuesday June 27, 2017 @12:39PM (#54699531)

    I have one of the new iPad pros (the 12.9 with the new hardware same as the new 10" but larger screen).

    Common Sense
    -It's not a laptop, expecting it to be one is starting from a false premise.
    -Slashdot users are not a representative sample of the target audience for the product.
    -For someone who has no computing electronics other than a phone, this would be able to take care of anything that common user would likely need in a laptop. email, browsing, word processor, spreadsheets, paying their bills online, etc.

    The Good
    -I have some visual issues, so bigger is literally better for me and that was part of my decision to purchase.
    -It's big enough to read comics at full size without having to sit in front of my desktop. I can read books with less eye strain.
    -The pen is amazing. The wife is a graphic artist and she is really loving it.
    -We both enjoy coloring using Pigment. That's close to being the killer app for the pad/pencil for us.

    The Not So Good
    -It's biiiig. I'll retain my ipad Air for travel. not getting this out to use on a plane.
    -Any game that forces you to use it in portrait mode makes you feel ridiculous, even when you are alone

    The Wait and See
    -iOS 11 has some interesting things coming.
    -The new file manager is very interesting, and seeing how companies can work apps with that. Could completely change using dropbox with the pad.
    - I'm still hoping for some more powerful photo editors for the ipad now that the hardware is improving. There's a bajillion of them out there but they all have like 20 features and 90% feature overlap between each one. We need something with 80% of photoshop, not another editor just like all the rest.

  • If you want a laptop, buy a f**ing laptop. What I wanted was a tablet, and could give a shit how bad some add-on keyboard is, if I wanted an add-on keyboard I would have bought a laptop. I didn't buy it to write long-winded word processing documents. I've had mine for a good 4 years now, and it's been great. I have a laptop too. If I had to choose between the tablet and laptop, I'd pick the tablet, as the laptop I've hardly used. When I want to do a lot of writing, I use my desktop, because a la
  • But I'll be damned if I'd ever consider replacing a laptop with an iPad. I know people who have, but their workflow is very very different to mine.

    Personally as a geek / nerd, it's just not viable. So his review is a bit harsh, but from the laptop replacement perspective, can't say he's wrong.

  • If you look at the iPad's history, you find it was something Steve Jobs basically dreamed up as his health was starting to fail and he was spending more time lying in hospital beds, or at least lying down, resting.

    And that's pretty much exactly what the device was outstanding at doing .... providing a better experience for viewing or manipulating digital content when you're not sitting down.

    Not only did it make a pretty good device to read your emails in bed at night, but it turns out it was pretty handy fo

fortune: not found

Working...