Slashdot Items Tagged "sensors"

Date / Time Story
Tuesday October 06, 2015 @08:58AM What Effect Will VW's Scandal Have On Robocars?
Monday October 05, 2015 @06:58PM Sensor Network Makes Life Easier For Japan's Aging Rice Farmers
Sunday October 04, 2015 @08:03PM Daimler Tests a Self-Driving Truck On the Autobahn
Monday September 28, 2015 @11:50AM Scientists Have Spotted the Signs of Flowing Water On Mars
Monday September 28, 2015 @08:26AM ISRO Launches Astrosat, India's First Dedicated Space Observatory
Saturday September 26, 2015 @05:26PM EPA To Overhaul Emissions Testing In the Wake of VW Cheating
Saturday September 26, 2015 @04:14PM Don't Worry, That Blimp Isn't Watching You Much
Saturday September 26, 2015 @09:27AM Brain-Controlled (Inflatable) Shark Attack
Thursday September 24, 2015 @02:18PM The New Technique That Finds All Known Human Viruses In Your Blood
Thursday September 24, 2015 @10:23AM How Did Volkswagen Cheat Emissions Tests, and Who Authorized It?
Wednesday September 23, 2015 @10:15AM Scientists Propose Using Fast Radio Bursts To Chart Universe In 3D
Sunday September 20, 2015 @05:36PM Volkswagen Could Face $18 Billion Fine Over Emission-Cheating Software
Friday September 18, 2015 @08:44PM Microsoft's Satya Nadella Shown Up By Confused Cortana Assistant
Tuesday September 15, 2015 @09:55AM Big Pharma Hands Out Fitbits To Collect Better Personal Data
Tuesday September 15, 2015 @08:22AM For Future Wearable Devices, the Network Could Be You
Friday September 11, 2015 @11:18AM Scientists Propose App That Detects Emotions Based On Walking Style
Thursday September 10, 2015 @02:12PM Pioneer Looks To Laserdisc Tech For Low-Cost LIDAR
Thursday September 10, 2015 @10:32AM Boston Tracks Vehicles, Lies About It, Leaves Data Exposed
Tuesday September 08, 2015 @08:33AM NASA's Ten-Year Mission To Study All the Ways the Arctic Is Doomed
Tuesday September 08, 2015 @08:31AM Researcher Hacks Self-Driving Car Sensors
Thursday August 27, 2015 @09:13AM Contiki 3.0 Released, Retains Support For Apple II, C64
Tuesday August 25, 2015 @09:20AM Skylake Has a Voice DSP and Listens To Your Commands
Saturday August 22, 2015 @04:06PM Re-Examined IceCube Data Firms Up Case For Extra-Galactic Neutrinos
Saturday August 22, 2015 @01:33PM Mobile Phone Data Can Track the Spread of Infectious Diseases
Saturday August 15, 2015 @12:46AM Google Research Leads To Automated Real-Time Pedestrian Detection
Saturday August 15, 2015 @12:27AM Motorola Quickly Shows Next Moto 360 Smartwatch, 'Flat Tire' Display Lives On
Tuesday August 11, 2015 @11:15AM Internet's Deep Infrastructure Could Double As a Sensor Network For Earthquakes and More
Sunday August 09, 2015 @07:19PM MIT Researchers Develop 'Real Steel' Robot With Human-Like Reflexes
Sunday August 09, 2015 @10:05AM A Fermilab First: Detecting Oscillating Neutrinos
Wednesday July 29, 2015 @03:21AM A Computer Umpires Its First Pro Baseball Game
Friday July 24, 2015 @05:58PM Pluto's Haze
Monday July 20, 2015 @10:23PM Emotionally Aware Apps That Respond To Feelings Are On the Horizon
Monday July 20, 2015 @09:56PM Elon Musk: Faulty Strut May Have Led To Falcon 9 Launch Failure
Thursday July 16, 2015 @06:41AM New Horizons Phones Home After Pluto Flyby -- Craft Healthy, Data Recorded
Thursday July 16, 2015 @06:37AM Macon-Bibb County Government Wants $5.7 Million Drone Fleet For Emergencies
Tuesday July 14, 2015 @11:02AM Cell Phone Radiation Emission Tests Assume Use of Belt Clip
Thursday July 09, 2015 @09:06AM There Aren't a Trillion Different Smells After All
Thursday July 09, 2015 @08:37AM Robot Performs Prostate Surgery Inside an MRI
Friday July 03, 2015 @05:49PM 3-D Ultrasonic Fingerprint Scanning Could Strengthen Smartphone Security
Thursday June 18, 2015 @05:05PM Big-Data Animal Tracking As an Eye On Life and Planet
Monday June 15, 2015 @07:06AM UW Researchers Prototype Sonar-Based Contactless Sleep Monitoring
Saturday June 13, 2015 @07:12PM Droning For Sharks
Friday June 12, 2015 @06:35PM Commodore PC Still Controls Heat and A/C At 19 Michigan Public Schools
Thursday June 11, 2015 @05:32PM NASA Releases Massive Climate Change Data Set
Thursday June 11, 2015 @10:50AM Jaguar Land Rover Makes System For Mapping Potholes For Autonomous Vehicles
Friday June 05, 2015 @06:23PM NOAA: Global Warming 'Pause' Never Happened
Tuesday June 02, 2015 @09:34AM How Biostamps Can Replace Clunky Biomedical Sensors
Saturday May 30, 2015 @12:23AM The Case For a Muon Collider Succeeding the LHC Just Got Stronger
Friday May 29, 2015 @07:42PM Hacked Emails Reveal Russian Plans To Obtain Sensitive Western Tech
Friday May 29, 2015 @07:22AM Why Detecting Drones Is a Tough Gig
Thursday May 28, 2015 @01:04PM New Class of "Non-Joulian" Magnets Change Volume In Magnetic Field
Wednesday May 27, 2015 @06:04PM Making the World's Largest Panoramic Photo
Tuesday May 26, 2015 @08:07AM Hackers Can Track Subway Riders' Movements By Smartphone Accelerometer
Wednesday May 20, 2015 @06:58PM Huawei's LiteOS Internet of Things Operating System Is a Minuscule 10KB
Tuesday May 19, 2015 @11:54AM Feds Order Amtrak To Turn On System That Would've Prevented Crash
Tuesday May 19, 2015 @11:50AM Cocaine Use Can Now Be Tested In Fingerprints Using Ambient Mass Spectrometry
Tuesday May 19, 2015 @10:00AM Rockwell Collins To Develop Cockpit Display To Show Sonic Boom Over Land
Tuesday May 12, 2015 @11:02AM Will Robot Cars Need Windows?
Sunday May 10, 2015 @05:53PM Can Earthquakes Be Predicted Algorithmically?
Thursday May 07, 2015 @03:18PM Centimeter-Resolution GPS For Smartphones, VR, Drones
Wednesday May 06, 2015 @03:06PM Apple's Plans For Your DNA
Sunday May 03, 2015 @07:04PM 4.0 Earthquake Near Concord, California
Saturday May 02, 2015 @02:46PM Native Hawaiian Panel Withdraws Support For World's Largest Telescope
Friday May 01, 2015 @11:30PM Seafloor Sensors Record Possible Eruption of Underwater Volcano
Thursday April 30, 2015 @05:38PM Messenger's Mercury Trip Ends With a Bang, and Silence
Thursday April 30, 2015 @11:52AM Submersible Photographs WW2 Japanese Sub's Long-Lost Airplane Hangar
Thursday April 30, 2015 @10:14AM Tattoos Found To Interfere With Apple Watch Sensors
Thursday April 30, 2015 @08:40AM World-First Remote Air Traffic Control System Lands In Sweden
Tuesday April 28, 2015 @01:19PM US Successfully Tests Self-Steering Bullets
Tuesday April 28, 2015 @12:45PM Signs of Subsurface 'Alien' Life Found In Antarctica
Tuesday April 28, 2015 @08:29AM A Cheap, Ubiquitous Earthquake Warning System
Friday April 24, 2015 @10:52AM Cosmic Rays Could Reveal Secrets of Lightning On Earth
Thursday April 23, 2015 @03:04PM Virtual Telescope Readied To Image Black Hole's 'Ring of Fire'
Thursday April 23, 2015 @11:32AM Stunning Hubble Silver Anniversary Picture Unveiled
Thursday April 23, 2015 @10:29AM New Sampling Device Promises To Make Blood Tests Needle-Free
Sunday April 19, 2015 @07:56PM New Nudge Technology Prods You To Take Action
Friday April 17, 2015 @07:00PM Recon Instruments' Sports-Oriented Smart Glasses Now Shipping
Thursday April 16, 2015 @12:54PM The Car That Knows When You'll Get In an Accident Before You Do
Thursday April 16, 2015 @11:21AM Calling Out a GAO Report That Says In-Flight Wi-Fi Lets Hackers Access Avionics
Tuesday April 14, 2015 @09:37AM Tracking the Weather On an Exoplanet
Friday April 10, 2015 @06:38PM How Flight Tracking Works: a Global Network of Volunteers
Friday April 10, 2015 @05:57PM 'Smart Sewer' Project Will Reveal a City's Microbiome
Thursday April 09, 2015 @12:30PM Biometrics Are Making Espionage Harder
Thursday April 09, 2015 @11:50AM The Arrival of Man-Made Earthquakes
Sunday April 05, 2015 @02:51PM Kinect For Windows Is Dead; Long Live Kinect For Windows Via USB
Sunday April 05, 2015 @12:10PM Tiny LIDAR Chip Could Add Cheap 3D Sensing to Cellphones and Tablets
Tuesday March 24, 2015 @09:34AM Hack Air-Gapped Computers Using Heat
Tuesday March 24, 2015 @08:30AM Android's Smart Lock Won't Ask You For a Password Until You Set Your Phone Down
Sunday March 22, 2015 @11:19AM Chevy Malibu 'Teen Driver' Tech Will Snitch If You Speed
Thursday March 19, 2015 @01:51PM No Fuel In the Fukushima Reactor #1
Thursday March 19, 2015 @01:08PM Google: Our New System For Recognizing Faces Is the Best
Wednesday March 18, 2015 @06:41PM Google, Developers Demo Impressive Gaming and VR Apps For Project Tango Tablet
Saturday March 07, 2015 @02:16PM Sewage Bacteria Reveal Cities' Obesity Rates
Thursday March 05, 2015 @03:11PM Developers Race To Develop VR Headsets That Won't Make Users Nauseous
Monday March 02, 2015 @11:13PM How a Kickstarter Project Can Massively Exceed Its Funding Goals and Still Fail
Monday March 02, 2015 @11:06PM 20-Year-Old Military Weather Satellite Explodes In Orbit
Wednesday February 25, 2015 @07:17PM US Govt and Private Sector Developing "Precrime" System Against Cyber-Attacks
Sunday February 22, 2015 @11:12PM Rocket Flown Through Northern Lights To Help Unlock Space Weather Mysteries
Saturday February 21, 2015 @04:04AM Crystal Pattern Matching Recovers Obliterated Serial Numbers From Metal
Friday February 20, 2015 @07:59PM Rapid Test For Ebola Now Available
Friday February 20, 2015 @07:15PM Breakthrough In Face Recognition Software
Friday February 20, 2015 @08:26AM Gadgets That Spy On Us: Way More Than TVs
Tuesday February 17, 2015 @11:37AM Cosmic Rays To Reveal the Melted Nuclear Fuel In Fukushima's Reactors
Tuesday February 17, 2015 @10:37AM Drones and Satellites Spot Lost Civilizations In Unlikely Places
Thursday February 12, 2015 @10:03AM Ask Slashdot: Affordable Large HD/UHD/4K "Stupid" Screens?
Tuesday February 10, 2015 @09:40AM West To East Coast: SpaceX Ready For Extreme Multitasking
Sunday February 08, 2015 @11:47AM SpaceX Launch of "GoreSat" Planned For Today, Along With Another Landing Attempt
Friday February 06, 2015 @06:36PM The Search For Neutrons That Leak Into Our World From Other Universes
Thursday January 29, 2015 @06:42PM Spire Plans To Use Tiny Satellites For More Accurate Weather Forecasts
Tuesday January 27, 2015 @12:45PM Proposed Space Telescope Uses Huge Opaque Disk To Surpass Hubble
Sunday January 25, 2015 @11:54PM NASA Considers Autonomous Martian Helicopter To Augment Future Rovers
Thursday January 22, 2015 @06:33PM Researchers Moot "Teleportation" Via Destructive 3D Printing
Tuesday January 20, 2015 @01:46PM Police Nation-Wide Use Wall-Penetrating Radars To Peer Into Homes
Tuesday January 20, 2015 @10:51AM Moscow To Track Cell-phone Users In 2015 For Traffic Analysis
Tuesday January 20, 2015 @10:23AM NJ Museum Revives TIROS Satellite Dish After 40 Years
Tuesday January 20, 2015 @10:17AM Samsung's Advanced Chips Give Its Cameras a Big Boost
Sunday January 18, 2015 @07:51PM Insurance Company Dongles Don't Offer Much Assurance Against Hacking
Friday January 16, 2015 @08:46PM Ask Slashdot: What Tablet and Software For a Partially Sighted Person?
Friday January 16, 2015 @08:21PM Lost Beagle2 Probe Found 'Intact' On Mars
Thursday January 15, 2015 @04:58PM Google Glass Is Dead, Long Live Google Glass
Thursday January 15, 2015 @12:10PM Man Saves Wife's Sight By 3D Printing Her Tumor
Friday January 09, 2015 @12:13PM Ask Slashdot: Options For Cheap Home Automation?
Friday January 09, 2015 @09:31AM European Researchers Develop More Accurate Full-Body Polygraph
Friday January 09, 2015 @09:18AM How a Shaking Stadium Is Helping Scientists Track Earthquakes
Tuesday December 30, 2014 @09:34AM 10 Years In, Mars Rover Opportunity Suffers From Flash Memory Degradation
Sunday December 28, 2014 @05:47PM Chaos Computer Club Claims It Can Reproduce Fingerprints From People's Photos
Saturday December 27, 2014 @10:33AM Newest Stealth Fighter's Ground Attack Sensors 10 Years Behind Older Jets'
Wednesday December 24, 2014 @11:04PM Major Security Vulnerabilities Uncovered At Frankfurt Airport
Wednesday December 24, 2014 @11:02PM Texas Instruments Builds New Energy Technology For the Internet of Things
Thursday December 18, 2014 @06:10PM Extracting Data From the Microsoft Band
Thursday December 18, 2014 @09:36AM Councilmen Introduce Bills Strongly Regulating UAV Use in NYC
Thursday December 18, 2014 @01:55AM Terrestrial Gamma Ray Bursts Very Common
Tuesday December 16, 2014 @12:59PM Virtual Reality Experiment Wants To Put White People In Black Bodies
Monday December 15, 2014 @12:18PM Raspberry Pi In Space
Friday December 12, 2014 @11:37PM Deflating Claims That ESA Craft Has Spotted Dark Matter
Thursday December 11, 2014 @11:16AM Army Building an Airport Just For Drones
Monday December 01, 2014 @12:06AM Who Needs NASA? Exoplanet Detected Using a DSLR
Sunday November 30, 2014 @09:45PM Breath Test For Pot Being Developed At WSU
Friday November 28, 2014 @06:53PM Single Pixel Camera Takes Images Through Breast Tissue
Friday November 28, 2014 @06:13PM Philae May Have Grazed Crater Rim
Sunday November 16, 2014 @03:37PM After Four Days, Philae Team Gets to Rest
Sunday November 16, 2014 @10:24AM For Some Would-Be Google Glass Buyers and Devs, Delays May Mean Giving Up
Friday November 14, 2014 @11:30PM Philae's Batteries Have Drained; Comet Lander Sleeps
Friday November 14, 2014 @02:45PM Comet Probe Philae To Deploy Drill As Battery Life Wanes
Friday November 14, 2014 @02:10PM Researchers Develop $60 Sonar Watch To Aid the Visually Impaired
Thursday November 13, 2014 @11:22AM Study Shows How Humans Can Echolocate
Thursday November 13, 2014 @11:19AM Data Center Study Reveals Top 5 SMART Stats That Correlate To Drive Failures
Thursday November 13, 2014 @10:50AM How Baidu Tracked the Largest Seasonal Migration of People On Earth
Thursday November 13, 2014 @10:22AM Comet Probe Philae Unanchored But Stable — And Sending Back Images
Thursday November 13, 2014 @09:57AM Carmakers Promise Not To Abuse Drivers' Privacy
Tuesday November 11, 2014 @09:41AM NASA Pondering $1.5 Million Stratospheric Airship Competition
Monday November 10, 2014 @03:06PM fMRI Data Reveals How Many Parallel Processes Run In the Brain
Thursday November 06, 2014 @09:18AM Pacific Northwest Lab's Sensor-Packed Fish Gauges Hydropower Facilities
Wednesday November 05, 2014 @01:26PM What People Want From Smart Homes
Tuesday November 04, 2014 @09:13AM Ford Develops a Way To Monitor Police Driving
Sunday November 02, 2014 @12:09AM Reactions To Disgusting Images Predict a Persons Political Ideology
Saturday November 01, 2014 @01:44PM Drones Over Greenland Give Insight To Pollution's Effects On Melting
Thursday October 30, 2014 @02:15PM HP Unveils Industrial 3D Printer 10X Faster, 50% Cheaper Than Current Systems
Thursday October 30, 2014 @02:13PM Remote Vision Through a Virtual Reality Headset (Video)
Thursday October 30, 2014 @10:07AM New Crash Test Dummies Reflect Rising American Bodyweight
Tuesday October 28, 2014 @11:13AM XYZPrinting Releases All-In-One 3D Printer With Internal Laser Scanner
Monday October 27, 2014 @01:12PM "Police Detector" Monitors Emergency Radio Transmissions
Thursday October 23, 2014 @12:26PM Austin Airport Tracks Cell Phones To Measure Security Line Wait
Thursday October 23, 2014 @08:43AM Machine Learning Expert Michael Jordan On the Delusions of Big Data
Tuesday October 21, 2014 @08:39AM Mars Orbiter Beams Back Images of Comet's Surprisingly Tiny Nucleus
Monday October 20, 2014 @01:32PM Barometers In iPhones Mean More Crowdsourcing In Weather Forecasts
Friday October 17, 2014 @07:22PM Facebook 'Safety Check' Lets Friends Know You're OK After a Major Disaster
Monday October 13, 2014 @01:59AM Your Typing Style Is Now, Or Could Soon Be, Big Data
Monday October 13, 2014 @01:56AM Your typing style is now, or could soon be, big data
Saturday October 11, 2014 @01:51PM Oculus Hiring Programmers, Hardware Engineers, and More For VR Research Division
Friday October 10, 2014 @06:21PM Prosthetic Hand Capable of Delivering Texture Sensations
Thursday October 09, 2014 @12:53PM Reverse Engineering the Oculus Rift DK2's Positional Tracking Tech
Wednesday October 01, 2014 @10:36AM Antarctic Ice Loss Big Enough To Cause Measurable Shift In Earth's Gravity
Wednesday October 01, 2014 @10:16AM Aral Sea Basin Almost Completely Dry
Tuesday September 30, 2014 @09:19AM Robotic Taster Will Judge 'Real Thai Food'
Monday September 29, 2014 @01:43PM Marines Put Microsoft Kinect To Work For 3D Mapping
Sunday September 28, 2014 @04:30PM Nixie Wearable Drone Camera Flies Off Your Wrist
Friday September 26, 2014 @10:25PM Underwater Landslide May Have Doubled 2011 Japanese Tsunami
Thursday September 25, 2014 @05:05PM John Carmack's Oculus Connect Keynote Probably Had Samsung Cringing
Thursday September 25, 2014 @03:39PM Catch Oil Polluters With Open Source Tools Using the Homebrew Oil Testing Kit
Thursday September 25, 2014 @11:34AM Euclideon Teases Photorealistic Voxel-Based Game Engine
Monday September 22, 2014 @05:47PM New "Crescent Bay" VR Headset Revealed and Demo'd At Oculus Connect
Saturday September 20, 2014 @02:21PM Video Released, Crowdfunding Underway For Axiom Open Source Cinema Camera
Tuesday September 16, 2014 @10:13AM A 16-Year-Old Builds a Device To Convert Breath Into Speech
Tuesday September 16, 2014 @08:33AM High School Student Builds Gun That Unlocks With Your Fingerprint
Tuesday September 16, 2014 @08:29AM The Challenges and Threats of Automated Lip Reading
Thursday September 11, 2014 @06:55PM Scientists Capture the Sound Made By a Single Atom
Thursday September 11, 2014 @02:54PM Hidden Archeology of Stonehenge Revealed In New Geophysical Map
Friday September 05, 2014 @06:22PM NYPD Starts Body Camera Pilot Program
Friday September 05, 2014 @06:15PM Should Cyborgs Have the Same Privacy Rights As Humans?
Thursday September 04, 2014 @08:20AM Japanese Firm Showcases "Touchable" 3-D Technology
Thursday September 04, 2014 @07:58AM New Usage-Based Insurance Software Can Track Drivers Using Smartphones
Thursday September 04, 2014 @07:23AM Out of the Warehouse: Climate Researchers Rescue Long-Lost Satellite Images
Wednesday September 03, 2014 @12:46PM CPU's Heat Output to Amplify DNA Could Make Drastically Cheaper Tests
Tuesday September 02, 2014 @08:26AM Iceland Raises Volcano Aviation Alert Again
Saturday August 23, 2014 @01:07AM Securing Networks In the Internet of Things Era
Friday August 22, 2014 @05:20PM A Better Way To Make Mind-Controlled Prosthetic Limbs
Friday August 22, 2014 @04:58PM Your Phone Can Be Snooped On Using Its Gyroscope
Friday August 15, 2014 @06:32PM Involuntary Eye Movement May Provide Definitive Diagnosis of ADHD
Wednesday August 13, 2014 @12:52PM Android Motorcycle Helmet/HUD Gains Funding