Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Media (Apple) Media It's funny.  Laugh.

Ultimate iPhone Review — Will It Blend? 347

Posted by CmdrTaco
from the everything-blends-in-a-blendtec dept.
I've been enjoying the Will it Blend videos forever. There's something about a labcoat clad crazy man putting things like marbles and soda cans into a blender and after reducing them to powder, warning you not to breathe in the particles. Well today they ask the ultimate question of the latest over-hyped internet sensation Will the iPhone Blend? Fans of these videos can probably guess the answer... and this story made my morning. I've been waiting for an excuse to link these forever. If you haven't seen these, you're in for a real treat.
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Ultimate iPhone Review — Will It Blend?

Comments Filter:
  • It always seems to (Score:2, Interesting)

    by andyh3930 (605873) *
    As well as being fun, its an amazing ad for the company, everything they but into their blenders ends up as toxic dust!!!
    • by niceone (992278) *
      As well as being fun, its an amazing ad for the company, everything they but into their blenders ends up as toxic dust!!!

      Yes, and the guy says at the end that he's thinking of putting the stuff on ebay... I wonder if he would actually be allowed to sell that toxic dust? I bet there's a law against it even though it's just the same stuff as is in the iPhone (well, it is the iPhone).
    • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

      by Technician (215283)
      everything they but into their blenders ends up as toxic dust!!!


      Not quite.. Look up the crowbar one. It reminds me of a slippery politician. The crowbar get a sidestep. So you are left wondering will it blend?

      While the iPhone video is slashdotted, enjoy these.

      If you want to look into the tougher jobs, look up the videos for "Will it shred"
      Here is a starter for a BMW
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNvvSWEbuTs [youtube.com]
      Computers/Printers
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1_uvM-5xKs&mode=re lated&search= [youtube.com]
      Boat
      http [youtube.com]
      • by TapeCutter (624760) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:44AM (#19825213) Journal
        Many moons ago I worked at a sawmill, the wood chipper would get blocked on a regular basis and required a crowbar to unblock it. I was not the first person to try and blend the crowbar. These (accidental) experiments demonstrated that crowbars don't blend easily, but you can slice the end off one if you have several tons of flywheel behind the blade.
        • Re: (Score:3, Interesting)

          by smellsofbikes (890263)
          I spend a lot of time in metal yards, buying scrap for various art projects. One of the frightening things to watch is people using stock woodworking equipment on aluminum, and I'm talking running a 2" thick plate of aluminum 5" wide and 10' long through a radial arm saw with a standard carbide blade on it. The noise is incredible, especially when they're running, say, huge sheets of 1/8" plate aluminum through tablesaws.
          I have yet to buy/use one, but people are selling blades that are rated to cut steel
    • by jimstapleton (999106) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:24AM (#19824985) Journal
      As well as being fun, its an amazing ad for the company, everything they but into their blenders ends up as toxic dust!!!

      Yes, because I really want my spaghetti sauce to become toxic dust. I think I'll take a blender that doesn't make everything toxic.
      • I can't help but feel a need to clarify the grandparent's post considering you seem to have missed the point.

        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tongue_in_cheek [wikipedia.org]

        Tongue-in-cheek is a term that refers to a style of humour in which things are said only half seriously, or in a subtly mocking way.
      • Re: (Score:3, Funny)

        by Mister Whirly (964219)
        If that is the case, I would suggest buying spaghetti sauce that doesn't contain any toxins to start with; I hear that really cuts down on the amount of toxic dust produced. Of course the sauces that DO contain concentrated toxins are generally priced much lower than the higher quality ones that contain only food grade ingredients. But it's really up to the consumer if they want to save that extra .50 cents or not...
    • by Rogerborg (306625) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @11:24AM (#19825673) Homepage
      Can they blend one of their own blenders? Wow, meta headrush.
    • by Anonymous Coward on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @11:30AM (#19825767)
      Amazingly, the dust still had to be sent to Apple to get the battery out.
    • Fun? (Score:5, Funny)

      by mi (197448) <slashdot-2012@virtual-estates.net> on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @12:02PM (#19826213) Homepage

      As well as being fun ...

      Fun? I was, actually, rather revolted... It always saddens me, when things break irreparably. I once felt depressed for a week after accidentally dropping an old hard-drive on the floor — it worked before, but broke due to my sloppiness...

      To do this sort of thing on purpose, with a shiny, new (and beautiful!) piece of high-tech electronics is a sin. To enjoy watching it is perverse, in my humble opinion...

      • Re: (Score:2, Insightful)

        by nerdup (523587)
        Being depressed for a week over dropping an inert piece of metal on the floor is more perverse than getting a charge out of watching one great piece of engineering chew up another, in my humble opinion...

        You might want to reexamine your priorities
        • by mikael (484)
          To me, it's a terrible waste of money and technology. My parents would have gone mad if I had ever deliberately broken something as expensive as that.

          Rich kids with too much free money to spend...

          • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

            by blincoln (592401)
            Rich kids with too much free money to spend...

            Agreed. It's in the same category of stupidity and arrogance as rock stars smashing instruments.

            The cluster of "Look! We're revealing the secrets of the iPhone! By breaking it!" articles on release were equally lame in my opinion.

            If you have something useful that you don't want, have the good nature to give it to someone who can make use of it.
          • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

            by mrchaotica (681592) *

            Rich kids with too much free money to spend...

            The guy in this video isn't a "rich kid with too much free money to spend," he's the owner (I think) of a blender company trying to advertise his product.

          • Re:Fun? (Score:5, Insightful)

            by flooey (695860) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @01:20PM (#19827331)
            To me, it's a terrible waste of money and technology. My parents would have gone mad if I had ever deliberately broken something as expensive as that.

            Rich kids with too much free money to spend...


            You do realize this is an advertisement, right? He's spending $500 on an iPhone, plus production costs, in order to sell what's likely to be thousands (possibly tens of thousands) of dollars in blenders. Not exactly a waste.
      • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

        by NutMan (614868)
        I had the same thought. Once I attended a small group discussion on hunger at a local University. A student from Africa said that when he first came to the U.S., he was in the cafeteria one day when a big food-fight erupted. It made him sick because of the contrast between the U.S. & Africa. He saw people starving over there, but here food is so plentiful we waste it by throwing it at each other as a joke.
        • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

          by zero_offset (200586)
          Let me guess: the result was for everyone to feel bad about this terrible contrast and engage in little personal guilt trips for "having it so good", instead of asking why his African ancestors apparently can't grow crops and raise food animals like everybody else on the planet has managed to do for the past 50,000 fucking years.
  • I don't think I've seen anything stop it from blending.
    • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

      by qplnm (228906)
      There was one where they were about to try a crowbar, then took it out and replaced it with something else. I didn't watch them with sound so I don't know why they did that, but it seemed pretty obvious the crowbar wasn't going to blend. Everything else went in about 30 seconds though!
      • I think there was a spoof video that featured several rocks and a pair of scissors. Not only did that not blend, but after about 10 seconds the scissors punched a hole in the side of the blender and went flying out. Of course, they might not have been using the official Blendtec blender, so this is purely speculative.
    • by arivanov (12034)
      It would have been stopped if the battery was fully charged. Looking at the video it most likely had just residual charge in it. Umhhh... The sweet smell of burning lithium polimer... Umhh.... Sweet...
  • Great for kids! (Score:5, Insightful)

    by PIPBoy3000 (619296) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @09:46AM (#19824599)
    My kids and I spent nearly an hour looking at all of these last night. Sam kept exclaiming "That's totally awesome!" Even four year-old Emma enjoyed the blending of the Barbies.

    I assume the whole thing is a viral marketing deal for the brand of blender, but it's so beautifully done. My wife and I decided that it was pretty obviously marketing towards men. Women might enjoy chopping up a rake or two, but men's eyes grow wide and they get a funny grin whenever you start tossing in glow sticks, marbles, iPhones, and other fun things.

    The other thing of note is that he probably should have been wearing a respirator for some of these tricks. The marbles in particular were very nasty. Breathing in small amounts of glass smoke is incredibly bad for your lungs. That's why they banned asbestos, after all.
    • Re: (Score:3, Funny)

      by mnmn (145599)
      Did you get to the section where they blend frogs and gerbils?? ...

      (ok ok, I was only kidding. Stop with that look on your face!)
    • by tsa (15680)
      The Barbie dolls were the best blending IMO! Ooo what a bad parent you are if you use that for punishment!

      "Bad, bad girl! Give me your Barbie! HAHAHAA!!!!"
    • by LighterShadeOfBlack (1011407) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:12AM (#19824909) Homepage

      My kids and I spent nearly an hour looking at all of these last night. Sam kept exclaiming "That's totally awesome!" Even four year-old Emma enjoyed the blending of the Barbies.
      You do realise you're going to have to keep your blender under lock and key for the next 12 years right?
      • I think they got sick of me saying "You realize you can never, ever do this, right?"

        They're used to disclaimers at this point. It began with the plasma in the microwave [youtube.com] video, I believe. Both my wife and I have master's degrees in science, so my kids are pretty much doomed to that sort of odd curiosity about things. My four year-old is quite good at scientifically scooping out the guts of slugs and snails, for example.
    • Re: (Score:2, Informative)

      by SuperBanana (662181)

      Breathing in small amounts of glass smoke is incredibly bad for your lungs. That's why they banned asbestos, after all.

      Asbestos has nothing to do with glass, only certain kinds of asbestos fibers are cancer-causing, and they are incredibly small- invisible to the unaided eye. But, fiberglass dust/fibers are now known to be harmful; always wear workgloves, long clothing, and a respirator when handling/installing fiberglass insulation. Lot of firms have gone to blown-in borax-treated newspaper fluff beca

      • Re:Great for kids! (Score:5, Informative)

        by pongo000 (97357) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @01:14PM (#19827239)
        Asbestos has nothing to do with glass

        While I'm sure folks appreciate your safety message, please don't try to practice chemistry at the same time. Both glass and asbestos are silicates, and are indeed chemically related. The danger from asbestos is that, even though it's inert, inhaled crystals that fall within a narrow range of size lodge deep within the lung tissue and cause scarring that can lead to further complications.

        In fact, inhaling glass dust can lead to silicosis, which is just as devastating.
    • It is viral marketing (a favorite on digg for a while), but it is for blenders that START at $400. Who spends $400 for the ability to make margaritas?
      • by vought (160908)
        Who spends $400 for the ability to make margaritas?

        I'm just taking a shot in the dark here, but....restaurants? Bars? Frat houses? People both rich and stupid enough to have an H2 in the driveway?
        • by Lars T. (470328)

          Who spends $400 for the ability to make margaritas?

          I'm just taking a shot in the dark here, but....restaurants? Bars? Frat houses? People both rich and stupid enough to have an H2 in the driveway?
          Hey, hey, slow down - a $400 blender is much more use than an H2.
      • What if your guest asks for a frozen drink with ground up marbles and ipod debris? THEN what would you do Mr Smarty Pants?
      • Re: (Score:2, Informative)

        I work at a Starbucks Coffee Co. cafe. We use blendtech blenders for Frappucino's. They really will blend most things that we would ever think of putting in them. People ask to have their brownie's blended into their frappucino's (which is against company policy - and I hate doing it because customers that make demands like that annoy me) and they do it just fine.

        They never break either... ours have been strong and kicking for a good 4 years.
    • by brarrr (99867)
      Which part of "Presented by Blendtec" in the window title (and elsewhere) gave away the insipid viral marketing angle?
  • I've seen a couple of these. Pretty good.

    Now... They need to do a Nintendo DS or a PSP. I'd love to see them do one of the bigger consoles, a la smashmy____.com, but I don't think they'll fit.
  • Sell it on eBay... (Score:5, Interesting)

    by Choad Namath (907723) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @09:52AM (#19824671)
    Assuming this [ebay.com] is real, he wasn't just joking at the end.
    • by TheThiefMaster (992038) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:21AM (#19824961)
      I like how it says "Product: iPhone Condition: Used" :)
    • Looks legit to me. If you click through the photos you will see him and the iphone dust from several different angles. These shots were not parts of the video, and presumably not available elsewhere on the net.
  • by choas (102419) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @09:56AM (#19824735)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qg1ckCkm8YI [youtube.com]

    Just in case the server 'blends'...

  • by rueger (210566) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @09:57AM (#19824759) Homepage
    Sure the innovative and groundbreaking iPhone will change the face of blending forever. Never before could you blend a full featured implementation of Apple's award winning Safari browser.
  • by PorkNutz (730601) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @09:59AM (#19824795) Homepage
    Notice how long the screen kept going. Even after the blender had started shredding the phone... the screen was still working. Impressive.

    -----
    Übergeek Necktie T-Shirt [prostoner.com]
    Funny Shirts @ ProStoner.com

    • by Bios_Hakr (68586)
      How could the LiPo have not exploded? I use LiPos on my RC helicopters. If the battery is broken or punctured, they tend to start a fire...
      • by rossifer (581396) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @12:03PM (#19826239) Journal

        I use LiPos on my RC helicopters. If the battery is broken or punctured, they tend to start a fire...
        Actually, I think you've got it a bit backwards. Puncturing a lipo is how you deactivate them when you want to throw them into a landfill (though you really should recycle them instead of tossing them). That's completely safe as long as the cell isn't fully charged, and even then, it's not that dangerous.

        When a lipo cell has an overcurrent failure, part of the cell vaporizes (puffed cell failure). In particularly bad failures after heavy use (low voltage, abusive current loads, etc.), the vapors can ignite from the heat of the cell. When this happens, the cell wall is guaranteed to fail, and then you get the green flames of death.

        But just poking a hole in your lipo won't start a fire. I also fly RC helis (T-Rex 450).

        Regards,
        Ross
        • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

          by neolith (110650)
          I too fly heli's and other lipo powered aircraft (Really? RC geeks hang out at slashdot? Whodathunkit?), and I think this misconception stems from the fact that on some hard impacts, a wire can get broken or even the tabs on the lipos themselves, cause a short circuit, which then leads to puffing or even fire. Post crash forensics lead to the conclusion that the damage to the battery itself led to the situation. Both improperly charging, and rapidly discharging can lead to lipo fires, but physical damag
  • I don't have an iPhone, but I guess it uses a Li ion-Polymer battery. Otherwise, I would expect to see an explosion.
  • Of course it blends (everything blends in these vidoes), but I was impressed by how long the iPhone display remained active in the slow-motion review.

  • WM5 Phone (Score:5, Funny)

    by Stevecrox (962208) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:12AM (#19824911) Journal
    Do you know I watched this on my Windows Mobile phone and seems to have broken it the video just keeps looping over and over I'm not certain but I think the "happy" midi tune plays every now and again
    • by illumin8 (148082)

      Do you know I watched this on my Windows Mobile phone and seems to have broken it the video just keeps looping over and over I'm not certain but I think the "happy" midi tune plays every now and again
      BillG called and he said "working as designed" so I decided to close your bug report...
  • It's amazing/disturbing what people will do in video responses on YouTube:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W13Wj34Lpt3 [youtube.com]
  • Obi Wan: (Score:4, Funny)

    by RicoX9 (558353) <(rico) (at) (rico.org)> on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:36AM (#19825123) Homepage
    I felt a great disturbance in the intertubes, as if millions of voices suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced. I fear something terrible has happened.
  • by interactive_civilian (205158) <mamoru&gmail,com> on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:45AM (#19825225) Homepage Journal
    Cute, but if you want a real ultimate review of the iPhone, get your butts over to ArsTechnica [arstechnica.com] to read their incredibly comprehensive iPhone review [arstechnica.com]. They cover just about everything you could want to hear (including some brutal stress testing that culminates in the iPhone being flushed down a toilet) and the following discussion has some good follow-ups by the authors.

    Yeah, maybe a shameless plug, but it is the best iPhone review I have seen so far.

    • by Bazman (4849) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:53AM (#19825319) Journal
      Well that's as maybe, but its the ultimate review for *that* particular iPhone!

      1913 Webster definition of ultimate is rather apropos:

      3. Incapable of further analysis; incapable of further
                  division or separation; constituent; elemental; as, an
                  ultimate particle; an ultimate constituent of matter.
                  [1913 Webster]
  • by paiute (550198) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @10:51AM (#19825301)
    "We found the Holy Grail"

    it blends

    "Cure for cancer"

    blend it

    "Kids, in this cage is the last living mouse lemur on Earth."

    where's that outlet?
  • by thewiz (24994) *
    only when someone sets me on fire.

    I'm surprised that BlendTec hasn't come out with the iBlend.
  • Good god, that's one expensive smoothie! Have to admit, though, it put up a pretty good fight in those first few whacks!
  • by Lars T. (470328) <Lars DOT Traeger AT googlemail DOT com> on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @12:04PM (#19826251) Journal
    - I think that voids the warranty.
    - I don't think Apple will replace the battery on that one.
    - So now they are stuck with a 2 year AT&T plan and don't even have an iPhone.
  • by drix (4602) on Wednesday July 11, 2007 @03:50PM (#19829275) Homepage
    Lots of people complain [slate.com] about the fawning praise lavished on the iPhone by a credible press. Tom Dickson is the only person I have seen yet who was shrewd enough to co-opt this for his own gain. It's like he established a hype resonance field--taking all the iPhone puffery, squaring it, and making it his own. I'm guessing he didn't wait all night to score those two iPhones. He probably picked a couple up off eBay for two grand; that he's willing to blow half that on a 10-second video clip testifies to how much more he's getting in return.

    Tom Dickson Jr., I salute you.

Is a person who blows up banks an econoclast?

Working...