Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Television Businesses Media Apple

David Pogue Reviews the Apple TV 270

Posted by Zonk
from the applevision-as-the-wave-of-the-future dept.
necro81 writes "David Pogue of the NY Times has devoted his weekly column to the newly released Apple TV. He also has a video blurb to go with it. He compares it to the XBox360 and Netgear's EVA8000, which also deliver content traditionally trapped in a PC onto a TV set. Apple TV Pros: setup is as easy as can be, it's small and silent form factor will be good for home theaters, and the interface and remote control are intuitive. Cons: HDTV only, playback is limited to formats playable within iTunes, and no internet functionality other than movie trailers."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

David Pogue Reviews the Apple TV

Comments Filter:
  • Shouldn't this be the "iTV"?
  • Not quite (Score:5, Informative)

    by Hawthorne01 (575586) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:01PM (#18462525)
    It will play on 480i, you just need component video to do it [tuaw.com].
  • hacked (Score:5, Informative)

    by jamienk (62492) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:02PM (#18462529)
    AppleTV can now play Xvid -- http://forums.somethingawful.com/showthread.php?s= &threadid=2391956 [somethingawful.com]
    • Re:hacked (Score:5, Insightful)

      by JimDaGeek (983925) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:08PM (#18462637)
      That is a lot of crap to do just to support a non-DRM encrusted format. The blurb even said you need QT Pro, which means more money for Apple to just play a file. No thanks, I will stick to MythTV.
      • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

        by ocelotbob (173602)
        The AppleTV's been out for 1 day, obviously the hacks at this point are at the quick and dirty level. If you fully RTFA, you'll learn that they're working on ways to streamline the process, and should have something a lot nicer soon.
        • Re:hacked (Score:5, Insightful)

          by JimDaGeek (983925) on Friday March 23, 2007 @04:08PM (#18463833)
          While as a geek I think it is cool to hack the hardware to offer more features, I don't think you should have to do that for a device you pay for to just watch some content that you record. Xvid [xvid.org] is open, so there is no reason for Apple to not at least include Xvid playback support. The only thing I can think of is that Apple wants the AppleTV to be nothing more than a player for iTMS content. If that is the case, then no thanks.
          • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

            by Anonymous Coward

            The only thing I can think of is that Apple wants the AppleTV to be nothing more than a player for iTMS content. If that is the case, then no thanks.

            FUD. You are just using Slashdotters' desire for multiple and open formats to perpetuate the FUD that Apple devices only play Apple contents.

            Yeah, Apple should support more formats (both audio and video). No argument there. However restricting it to MP-4 and H.264 does not mean it only supports iTMS content only (FWIW, there is no iTMS anymore. It's iTunes Stor

          • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

            by dr.badass (25287)
            Xvid is open, so there is no reason for Apple to not at least include Xvid playback support.

            It already does. I have hundreds of XviD-encoded videos, all of which I am confident will play on AppleTV. They already play in iTunes and on the iPod. How is this possible? Easy. I just chose not to encode them with non-standard features, and not stick them in non-standard formats like AVI or MKV.

            I don't think anyone should have to compensate for the fact that open source projects don't devote much energy to ma
      • Re:hacked (Score:5, Informative)

        by Karlt1 (231423) on Friday March 23, 2007 @10:51PM (#18467571)
        "That is a lot of crap to do just to support a non-DRM encrusted format. The blurb even said you need QT Pro, which means more money for Apple to just play a file. No thanks, I will stick to MythTV."

        How in the world is this marked "insightful"? There is so much misinformation in those two sentences its ridiculous.

        1. The AppleTV plays MP3, AAC, AIFF, WAV, Apple Lossless, Mpeg4 and H.264 all non DRMd formats.
        2. You don't need Quicktime Pro for any AppleTV functionality. You can use Handbrake (free open source software available for Windows, Macs, and Linux) to rip DVDs to either MPEG or H.264
        3. You don't even need QTPro to re-encode into an AppleTV format. There are plenty of free tools that can convert from Divx to Mpeg. If you're using a Mac, you download the codecs for QT, and you import the Divx movie into iTunes (Movie2Itunes) and then choose the "Convert to iPod format.
    • I didn't read your link (somethingawful.com and work computer don't mix). Would someone mind explaining what they did. I would think that it should be fairly easy to get any format that has a Quicktime plugin (like from flip4mac or Perian) to work with the AppleTV.
      • Re:Interesting. (Score:4, Informative)

        by astrosmash (3561) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:50PM (#18463481) Journal
        They pulled the HD out of the Apple TV unit and attached it to an existing OS X system. The disk apparently contains a pretty standard OS X 10.4.7 install, so they just added the additional QuickTime plug-ins to /Library/QuickTime/.

        Apparently they also enabled ssh. My speculation: They reconfigured launchd and the firewall to allow ssh connections to sshd, and presumably they configured the local user account (whatever it is) to allow public-key authentication so they don't have to futz around with any passwords. All of that can be done by simply editing text configuration files.
    • by jspayne (98716)
      Mod Parent: +1 - more interesting that the lame review
  • by stratjakt (596332) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:04PM (#18462557) Journal
    Moronic. Turns out it's not that much more useful than my Xbox 360, and infinitely less useful than a hacked xbox media center.

    I mean OH MY GOD APPLE I LOVE THIS YOU HAVE REINVENTED MY TV! It now has YOUR STORE ATTACHED TO IT!
    • Wait, you're saying its more useful than the 360, which pretty much does everything the AppleTV does as a secondary feature. Hopefully the AppleTV will "also play games" as well as the Xbox "also streams video" to be worth $300.
      • Re: (Score:2, Informative)

        by stratjakt (596332)
        I should have qualified "no more useful than 360 wrt video"

        I also should have noted that the 360 costs just as much. And the hard drive on the appletv isn't much bigger, 40 gig isn't much when you're talking HDTV movies at 7-9 gigs-ish each (based on my 360 marketplace experience).

        Also, Apple doesn't say (they never do... PART OF THEIR HIP MYSTIQUE!!). I see one single lonely USB port on the back. Can that be to attach storage, or just for iPod syncing? I know I stuck a fat-formatted 80 gig usb drive fi
        • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

          by bestinshow (985111)
          Take AppleTV. Take out 40GB hard drive. Image onto 160GB hard drive. Put 160GB into Apple TV. Kappow, extra storage space.
          Whilst the drive is out you can also install a SSH server so you can get access to the filesystem. The username/password on the AppleTV is frontrow/frontrow. I guess you could install Apache or Postgresql or whatever here as well, assuming the BSD layer is intact. People are working on getting the USB port fully active, and remote desktop active.
          And via the SSH server you can install div
          • by JimDaGeek (983925)
            And do you really think your average user could do all that? Nope. On the AppleTV site, Apple quotes:

            Apple TV is "for people who are yearning for a simple way to show on their big TVs all that stuff trapped on their computers."
            Your suggestion doesn't sound simple enough for Joe User.
        • by geekoid (135745)
          You bring up some good points, but then you bring up some unbelievally ignorant points.

          "
          Are you supposed to have all your purchased video on your Mac (sold seperately), and leave it running non-stop?"

          Works with PC's as well. They ahve been very clear about that.

          It is designed to stream content, not long term storage of content. I will make a prediction here: future version will have a larger HD...I know, it's a freaking revelation.

          It also plays anything you can import into iTunes.
          This is a minor issue for m
    • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

      It didn't take long for someone to start bashing Apple or mock its users. Jeez..

      Besides Apple TV seems to be easily modifiable (Probably more so than your xbox media center).

      Anyway, Apple delivers a product that works AS ADVERTISED. Nobody is forcing you to buy one. If you need DVR, Tivo has a product for you.

      Or just maybe, you can have a media server in another room and just use the Apple TV to view the content remotely (and without the noise of cooling fans). I think it works out of the box this way

    • by Jeff DeMaagd (2015) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:23PM (#18462957) Homepage Journal
      Sorry, but no, 480i is not HDTV, even if it is in component video form. The connector type doesn't define whether it is HD.

      I had an SDTV that I bought in 2000 had 480i component, and that TV was not capable of progressive or HD video.
      • by Dirk Pitt (90561)
        OP was responding to this part of the story summary:

        "Cons: HDTV only"

        He's saying that the Apple TV will support *normal def* with component, it already supports 720P out-of-the-box.
        • by prockcore (543967)

          He's saying that the Apple TV will support *normal def* with component, it already supports 720P out-of-the-box.


          It only supports 720p24. Broadcast HD is 720p60... you're looking at 1/3rd the framerate of current HD programming in the US.
    • by Thrudheim (910314)

      infinitely less useful than a hacked xbox media center

      For you, that's probably true at this point in time, but the very fact that you have a hacked xbox media center and are reading Slashdot puts you out on the fringe of the target market. Apple is very good at delivering products that non-techies can use, and it turns out that there are a lot of non-techies out there.

    • Re: (Score:3, Interesting)

      The 360 is a gigantic, noisy Windows PC designed to spread the Win32 monopoly into the living room. The Apple TV is a tiny, silent iTunes streaming device. I'll take the Apple TV.
    • Technically, it's not "HDTV" only, as reported by Mossberg this week in Wall Street Journal. It *does* require 16:9 widescreen, which not many non-HDTV's can accomodate. Whatever.
    • I mean OH MY GOD APPLE I LOVE THIS YOU HAVE REINVENTED MY TV! It now has YOUR STORE ATTACHED TO IT!



      Heh.



      +5 Slavish Adoration In Face of Technical and Usability Deficiencies :-)

  • hmm (Score:5, Informative)

    by mastershake_phd (1050150) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:10PM (#18462687) Homepage
    Right now my Xbox with Xbox Media Center is more functional than this. It will play just about anything. Including realmedia files inside of a rar.
    • Re:hmm (Score:4, Funny)

      by Anonymous Coward on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:15PM (#18462807)

      It will play... realmedia files
      that goes in the con column
    • by astrosmash (3561)
      But it can't play iTunes playlists, which makes it useless to the apparently 110 million iTunes users out there.

      Geeks have been hooking up their PCs to their home entertainment systems since the late 90s, so excuse my while I yawn at your XBox hack. But what we haven't seen yet is a successful product that does this for the average consumer in an elegant manner, which is why Apple TV is interesting. That is, to see how well it works and if it succeeds or not.
    • by slantyyz (196624)
      Yeah, sure it can. Let's see it play back an HD file (i.e., 720p or 1080i) without hiccups or spending hours re-encoding TS files.

      XBMC is great (I retired my own XBMC once I got a 1080p TV), but get your fanboy head out of your ass and accept the fact that it has limitations once you move up into real HD.
  • Eh (Score:2, Interesting)

    by DogDude (805747)
    TV as we know it is a rapidly dying market. More than half of the people I know don't have an antenna/cable/satellite TV. I haven't had a "TV" for anything other than games and DVD's for 5+ years. The quality of the content on "TV" is consistently "lowest common denominator" and it's beyond absurd to pay for TV (cable or satellite), and then have to sit through advertisements.
    • Depending on how cheaply you can get your Internet access and how much TV you watch, buying a season pass on iTunes could wind up being cheaper than paying for cable.

      Unfortunately for me, the only reliable broadband in my area is from Comcast, who charges you an extra $15/month for broadband if you don't get it bundled with their $15/month basic cable.

    • Re:Eh (Score:5, Funny)

      by Luscious868 (679143) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:42PM (#18463295)

      TV as we know it is a rapidly dying market. More than half of the people I know don't have an antenna/cable/satellite TV. I haven't had a "TV" for anything other than games and DVD's for 5+ years. The quality of the content on "TV" is consistently "lowest common denominator" and it's beyond absurd to pay for TV (cable or satellite), and then have to sit through advertisements.
      I've read about you! [theonion.com]
  • by nbvb (32836) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:14PM (#18462797) Journal
    I saw "Netgear EVA8000" and thought of HP's midrange disk array.

    I'm actually surprised that Netgear chose the name, since it's blatantly similar to this [hp.com].

  • What's the point? (Score:5, Interesting)

    by rizzo420 (136707) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:21PM (#18462909) Homepage Journal
    i'm not sure i understand the point of apple tv. i have a tivo that no only lets me play files off my computer, but also let's me record tv. what's the point of the apple tv (only 50 hours), which costs more than an 80 hour tivo with dual tuner that comes with a 1 year subscription? with my tivo, i can move movies to my computer (currently only windows, but possibly macos as well, i'm not sure), record tv on 2 stations at the same time, have a nice tv guide, watch movies from my computer on my tv, play music on my computer through my tv, show picture slideshows from my computer on my tv, download amazon unbox videos, and watch tivo casts that i get off the internet. what's the point of apple tv if it doesn't even do half of this, yet costs the same? i just don't get it.
    • by 2nd Post! (213333) <gundbear@p[ ]ell.net ['acb' in gap]> on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:24PM (#18462969) Homepage
      1) Cheaper because it has no subscription costs
      2) Easier because it does less

      Both of these points were very salient to the iPod's success. Apple expects them to be key drivers for the AppleTV as well.
      • by rizzo420 (136707)
        the tivo is cheaper if you don't pay for the subscription, which is not needed to record shows. you just need to know the time and date of what you want to do and you don't get the guide feature. tivo's interface is extremely easy to use.

        i just don't see the point. there's other products out there (like tivo) that do a lot more. i just don't see the point in buying one.
        • Re: (Score:3, Informative)

          by 2nd Post! (213333)
          I'm trying to answer your question, but you seem to keep misunderstanding.

          What is the point of an iPod when the Creative Nomad was cheaper, in 2001?
          iPod was smaller (same as AppleTV vs TiVo.)
          iPod was easier to use (There is no need to schedule, program, or search the AppleTV. Just click and watch.)

          The point YOU keep making is there are more features on the TiVo.

          The point I am making is that those extra features aren't important. The person who wants an AppleTV doesn't want to "know the time and date", don't
          • by rizzo420 (136707)
            yeah... sounds like a waste of money to me. more DRM'd stuff from apple who claims they don't like DRM.
            • by 2nd Post! (213333)
              Did you think the original iPod was a waste of money too?
              Did you consider then that most of the market did not?
              Are you surprised, now, at how popular the iPod is?
              • by rizzo420 (136707)
                no, but the ipod was in a market that didn't have already popular products. this is entering as a product that lacks features that products already on the market have, that are already very easy to use, and already have millions of users.
                • by 2nd Post! (213333)
                  At the time people thought the Creative Nomad WAS a popular product.

                  Apple then released the iPod and now there are about 1 iPod for every 10 people.

                  As of March last year the ENTIRE market of DVRs was only about 9% penetration. Put another way, more people own iPods than DVRs, much less TiVos. There is still room for Apple to carve a niche, even if it is only 10% of the population.

                  You say TiVo is very easy to use. I've used it; yes it is easy, but compared to iTunes, not easy ENOUGH.
                  http://www.businessweek.c [businessweek.com]
          • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

            by badasscat (563442)
            The point YOU keep making is there are more features on the TiVo.

            The point I am making is that those extra features aren't important.


            They are important when you're dealing with video rather than music.

            The really important thing that either Apple failed to realize or just discounted for whatever reason is that while there has always been something of a defacto standard in music formats (mp3), there has never been a similar standard in video formats. They are now trying to impose h.264 as a standard, while
        • the tivo is cheaper if you don't pay for the subscription, which is not needed to record shows. you just need to know the time and date of what you want to do and you don't get the guide feature. tivo's interface is extremely easy to use.

          So you can either have a crappy interface that makes you manually look up and program in the times, or you can pay an expensive subscription. No thanks. My PVR lets me choose any subscription program guide I want, including Web based, one that are free with a few banner ads. Also, with the Tivo you need a Cable TV subscription to get the shows in the first place, while with the AppleTV you buy the individual shows you want (more granularity but higher prices per show although at there are no ads.)

          i just don't see the point. there's other products out there (like tivo) that do a lot more. i just don't see the point in buying one.

          The A

      • 1) Cheaper because it has no subscription costs

        That's a pretty transparent fallacy.

        Since the Apple box only plays iTunes store content, its actual cost is as high as your desire to watch new media.

        Only if you use it as sparingly as an old lady does ice skates will it be "cheaper."

        2) Easier because it does less

        True, in the same way that the mentally deficient are more efficient cogitators because they think less.

    • Re: (Score:2, Informative)

      by varmittang (849469)
      Think of it this way. Here in NJ where I live I can get HDTV service with all the channels that I would need to be able to watch my show for about $100. Now, if I cancel my service I will save about $1000 dollars a year. These are very rounded number people. Take out a 300 dollars for the AppleTV and I have about $700 worth of iTunes TV content that I can purchase. Then the next year I will have $1000 of iTunes purchases that I can make. This is more than enough money to purchase the TV shows that I
    • Re:What's the point? (Score:4, Interesting)

      by jfengel (409917) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:36PM (#18463195) Homepage Journal
      Mostly this is Apple's way of leveraging the video capability of its iTMS out to your TV, exactly the way TiVo does for Amazon Unbox.

      I'll admit I'm mystified why they didn't make it a general DVR at the same time. My best guess is that it's coming but that the software wasn't ready yet; Apple's got very high standards for such things. But I haven't heard any complaints from TiVo customers, and my limited experience with them has been pleasant.

      On the other hand I've heard much bitching about Unbox. Maybe Apple felt that they could get ahead of that and make people prefer to download rather than record; they'd rather sell you Lost for $2 than record it for free. They're certainly being way forward-looking by aiming at HDTVs, but they're not selling HDTV content yet, so they seem to be premature or out of touch.
      • by rizzo420 (136707)
        what sort of bitching about unbox? i rented a movie once so far just to try it and the movie was really good quality, but it took about an hour and a half to arrive.

        i've had tivo now since christmas and i have to say that i absolutely love it and can't imagine watching tv without it.
        • by jfengel (409917)
          I'm just repeating what I read on the Web. I know some people were griping about its software, which you presumably bypass with your TiVo. Plus there are the usual "DRM is teh 3v1L" comments all over the place.
    • by kosmosik (654958)
      > i'm not sure i understand the point of apple tv.

      Me also. :) At last in out-of-the box form that Apple offers it.

      But I am in HISTERICAL URGE to get one... $300 is really cheap for a PC with STUNNING FORM/FACTOR, quite modern 1GHz processor, 256MB DDR, quite decent GPU and standard hard drive (can be exchanged for bigger one when you need it). The only pain is only HD (connector) output and optical audio output.

      I guess *when* it will be aviable for me (in normal retail stores so somebody can sent it over
    • Re: (Score:3, Insightful)

      by vought (160908)
      i'm not sure i understand the point of apple tv.

      It's an iPod without a battery, but with HDTV out. Instead of a cable, it uses wireless to sync with iTunes.

      It does what the iPod does - lets you move media that's stored on your computer to other places. Instead of pluggin in headphones and toting it around with you like the iPod, you plug AppleTV into your TV sit on the couch.

      Got it now?
      • by rizzo420 (136707)
        by media, you mean it lets you move apple-approved media, which is a very slim amount of file types.
  • [...] playback is limited to formats playable within iTunes [...]

    I sincerely hope that Apple TV would succeed - if only to additionally indirectly support MP4 format wider adoption.

    It's not the best, but among other formats it is only one which is open, free and platform independent.

  • by PingSpike (947548) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:30PM (#18463089)

    Apple TV Pros: setup is as easy as can be, it's small and silent form factor will be good for home theaters, and the interface and remote control are intuitive. Cons: HDTV only, playback is limited to formats playable within iTunes, and no internet functionality other than movie trailers."


    Sounds worse then a regular TV, am I missing something? Whats the big deal with this thing?
    • Re: (Score:3, Funny)

      by Paulrothrock (685079)

      I know! And the iPod has no wireless and less space than a Nomad! They'll never catch on.

      • Re:Huh? (Score:5, Insightful)

        by ClosedSource (238333) on Friday March 23, 2007 @04:18PM (#18463995)
        I think it's instructive to remember that there are far more minimally successful or unsuccessful Apple products than there are very successful Apple products. Actually, the iPod is the only one that is a market leader.

        So the odds that this product will be a big winner are not that high if Apple's overall performance is considered.
    • It's cute and has an Apple logo on it, you insenstive clod! Nevermind that it doesn't do anything much that hasn't already been done. Pay no attention to the man in the turtleneck behind the curtain...
  • by BlueBoxSW.com (745855) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:35PM (#18463169) Homepage
    What is going to make AppleTV worth the money is this:

    Video Podcasting.

    There are already a plethera of great video podcasts available, and with AppleTV you can sit and watch them in your livingroom, not on a computer or 2" ipod video screen.

    Sure, a bit of effort every day, you can download the same content and burn it to DVD, or get it to play some other way on your TV, but with AppleTV and a smart iTunes playlist, you can have a couple hours of content that's new and interesting and commercial-free every single night.

    This isn't a strike at Tivo, this is a stike at Prime Time programming of all kinds.
  • by abes (82351) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:40PM (#18463265) Homepage
    I get the fact that it's supposed to be the iPod, but for you living room. It makes sense for Apple's perspective. They have content (in this case TV shows and movies) that they want you to buy and watch. What's a primary factor keeping from people watching? They want to use their TVs.

    Now in theory you can take the signal from your computer, and send it to the TV. Of course, you might have to buy some of your own cables/get hardware. Thus Apple's solution. Provide a simple box that takes care of all of that for you. It's a small box that just magically streams all your content (across your various computers) to a single point, which can be hooked up to a TV.

    BUT, as a consumer this doesn't make sense. I like the idea of picking what shows I want to watch, but I actually don't want to own most of them. If the Apple TV allowed me 'rent' a show, I would buy one in a second. Or if I could pay a monthly fee (say: 10 shows subscription), again, I'd totally bite. But paying premium to own something I plan on only watching once has absolutely no appeal to me. It's too expensive. It's still cheaper in the long run to just get cable if you go above 4-5 shows (daily show, colbert report, myth busters, robot chicken .. there already).

    I don't see Apple doing this anytime soon, as it seems to go against their current business model. So instead they seem to get some strange compromise. Something almost useful .. but only if you enjoy spending a lot of extra . It doesn't give unique functionality like an iPod (or any other MP3 player), where portability is essential. It just makes things a little easier.

    Maybe Apple has something up their sleeves. I keep waiting, but it isn't looking too likely...
    • by prodos (50696)
      Ah but its the Colbert Report and Daily Show killing your efficiency there. If you only watched non-news shows from iTunes then you could easily watch 12+ different shows a year before you approached a basic cable or satellite subscription. Now as slashdotters we all live by Colbert and Stewart, but there's a huge market of tv watchers out there that prefer to watch ABC/NBC/CBS/FOX news instead, and all they would have to do is buy one of those HD broadcast antennas and they could get their daily news fi
    • ...as a consumer this doesn't make sense. I like the idea of picking what shows I want to watch, but I actually don't want to own most of them. If the Apple TV allowed me 'rent' a show, I would buy one in a second. Or if I could pay a monthly fee (say: 10 shows subscription), again, I'd totally bite. But paying premium to own something I plan on only watching once has absolutely no appeal to me. It's too expensive.

      Content is the hard thing here. In order to really move to IP based television (which would bring many advantages) the incumbents of content creation need to be persuaded or replaced. I remember reading somewhere that $3 a month from every adult American would be enough money to finance the creation and distribution on DVD of every currently produced TV show in the US. So something like $10 a month for permanent access to all the television show you like would not be an unreasonable rate if production wa

  • I don't now where David's buying his media center remote control but ebgames has the Microsoft Media Center remote control [ebgames.com] accessory for the XBOX 360 priced at $20. I know Logitech makes a two-way uber MCPC remote for the XBOX 360 that's priced at around $100 but even the Microsoft remote has far more capability than the AppleTV remote.
    • He also says that if you use the xbox controller you have to move through the bottom button bar to pause. I'm almost positive that clicking one of the analog sticks pauses.
  • by patiwat (126496) on Friday March 23, 2007 @03:56PM (#18463567)
    The summary is wrong.

    Summary: Cons: HDTV only

    Article: The heartbreaker for millions, however, is that Apple TV requires a widescreen TV -- preferably an HDTV. It doesn't work with the squarish, traditional TVs that many people still have.

    Apple TV will still work if you don't have an HDTV. It just requires a widescreen TV.

  • by brokeninside (34168) on Friday March 23, 2007 @04:15PM (#18463955)

    By leaving out the tuner, they left out two of the four killer apps for a set top box: pausing live TV and season passes for time shifting TV shows. Of the other two killer apps (streaming content from the internet and from one's private network) one is a bit of a pain because you have to go to a dedicated workstation to buy movies off of the internet. As of right now, I'd rather buy a Mac mini with an EyeTV dongle and add DVD playback and a tv tuner for just over double the cost of the AppleTV.

    Too bad I can't afford to do that.

    Not that I'm arguing that this product won't be successful. It just won't be as successful as it could have been. I'll wager, though, that Apple will add the missing feature by the end of this calendar year.

  • by tsa (15680)
    From the blurp: ...it's small and silent form factor will be good for home theaters...

    It took me three reads to realize there was a spelling error somewhere in there which made the sentence absolutely incomprehensible. Please /. staff, be better than your users!
  • by Ixlr8 (63315) <[L.Mol] [at] [ewi.tudelft.nl]> on Friday March 23, 2007 @06:38PM (#18465773) Homepage

    Cons: HDTV only
    To make matters worse, there's no floppy drive!

All constants are variables.

Working...