Slashdot is powered by your submissions, so send in your scoop

 



Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
OS X Operating Systems

Rave Reviews for Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger 1088

Posted by Zonk
from the widgets-widgets-everywhere dept.
druid_getafix writes "The first mass market reviews of Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger are trickling in with a big thumbs up for the release. Walt Mossberg of the WSJ says 'Tiger Leaps Out in Front' but complains about slowness of some applications - notably Mail. David Pogue of NYT says 'But with apologies to Mac-bashers everywhere, Spotlight changes everything. Tiger is the classiest version of Mac OS X ever and, by many measures, the most secure, stable and satisfying consumer operating system prowling the earth.' In related news Mossberg also covers the rising incidence of spam/virii in the Windows world and says '...consider dumping Windows altogether and switching to Apple's Macintosh...'. Previous reviews of Tiger were covered on /. earlier."
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Rave Reviews for Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger

Comments Filter:
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @07:41AM (#12370207)

    unless there's a torrent..
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @07:45AM (#12370229)
    Which fanboy are you?
    1. Windows

      You wear wraparound sunglasses, even indoors. You wish your mother would let you ride a motorbike. You tell your friends you're pulling in $50,000 a year and $2,000 a month "playing the stock market" but in reality you're only bringing in half that and your dividends from MSFT havn't been good in years. Your non computing friends all turn to you for help; you only charge $30 an hour. Your collegues talk about you behind your back. Your workplace nickname is likely to be "The Asshole". Unlike the Linux fanboys, you actually try to pick up dates in bars but women laugh at you.
    2. Apple

      You think you're so cool you hurt. You have mirrors on every wall in your "loft apartment", which is really a grimy little apartment next to a guy who plays Guns 'n Roses at 3am. All of your furniture is from Ikea. You sometimes think that changing your name to "Steve" would be "pretty cool". When you go to bars you only drink Miller Lite. No body ever asks you for help with their computers because they know you don't know anything but OS X, even if you do tell them you "run Unix" now. Your friends openly laugh at you.
    3. Linspire

      You regularly give $10 bills to homeless guys because you have too much money. Computers baffle you, but you enjoy looking at pictures of naked women. You don't know what Linux is, but you continually bugged the IT guy at work about your computer so he installed Linspire on your machine.
    4. Umbongo

      You shop at GAP. You probably used to use a Mac. When you saw the multiracial image used as a desktop picture and heard that this operating system came from the same country as Nelson Mandela, you knew it was for you. You meet with your friends in fair-trade coffee houses and talk about the eventual overthrow of evil corporations such as Microsoft and Starbucks. Like the Linspire user, you have very little real knowlege when it comes to computers but you would never use your computer to look at pictures of women degrading themselves.
    5. Gentoy

      You've been "into computers" for ohh, one or two years now and fancy yourself as "a bit of a hacker". Wouldn't know C from C++, or even Perl for that matter. Older Gentoy users may be building their homes from matchsticks. You've explained to all your friends that your matchstick house will have an "optimised floorplan". They've tried to tell you that your house violates every known building code and law in your area, but you've ignored them so far because you can't read those complicated regulatory documents.
    6. Linux From Scratch

      Much like the Gentoy user but you'd also be into sadomasochistic sex if you could get it. You're not just building a house from matchsticks, you're planing to grow the trees to make the matchsticks. You've cleared some land but don't know what to do next because you havn't read the books you've got, so you've posted to alt.arborists.newbie asking for help. It's been three days so far and no one has replied. You remain hopeful.
  • by earthbound kid (859282) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @07:45AM (#12370231) Homepage
    welco... AHHH!! *mauled to death by a tiger for using a slashdot cliche*
  • Gloat (Score:3, Funny)

    by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @07:46AM (#12370239)
    My god is it a great time to be a Mac user.

    Apple Tech
    NeXT Tech
    Dual G5
    iPod/iTunes/iTMS
    OpenGL
    unix Layer
    and my copy of Tiger is riding around in a FedEx van at this very moment.

    Everything I've ever wanted in a computer system is a few hours away from becoming reality.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @07:48AM (#12370253)
    7. VM/370; you're a genius with many years of experience. You've seen crummy junk like Windows, Unix and Mac and stick to the one proven to work system with a 38 year history of excellence.
  • Re:Java 5? (Score:5, Funny)

    by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @07:49AM (#12370264)
    Java 5? That's Java 1.5.0, yes? No, wait, I mean that's Java2 1.5.0?

    Does it run on SunOS 2.10? Sorry, I mean, Solaris 10?
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @07:52AM (#12370284)
    Reality Distortion Field.
  • by mmkkbb (816035) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @07:58AM (#12370342) Homepage Journal
    One thing I have noticed so far is that Expose seems a lot less fluid than in Panther.

    Well, iPods don't have the best graphics accelerator, so that's probably your difference.

    *gets coat*
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:03AM (#12370382)
    Debian:

    Everything you own is at least 20 years old, and you stick with it because "it works". If you need something new, you buy it from an antique shop. Your computer is a 386 with 8MB of RAM. You laugh at anyone who has anything faster, calling them 'lame'. The council are about to demolish your house, but you refuse to move.
  • by TrippTDF (513419) <.moc.liamg. .ta. .dnalih.> on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:05AM (#12370401)
    Using cliches on Slashdot... it's a TRAP!
  • by adavies42 (746183) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:07AM (#12370423)
    From the NYT article:

    The Safari browser now subscribes to R.S.S. news feeds,
    And its "private browsing" mode conceals the tracks of online deeds.
    There are archives now, and log files, when you send or get a fax;
    You can make the pointer bigger on those Jumbotron-screened Macs.
    You can start a full-screen slide show from some photos on demand;
    And the voice that reads the screen aloud can lend the blind a hand.
    There's a password-phrase suggestor meant to make yours more secure,
    And the Grapher module draws equations simple and obscure.
    Then the Automator program is a geeky software clerk -
    You just choose the steps you want performed, and it does all the work.
    There's a lot of miscellany, lots of spit-and-polish stuff,
    But it works and doesn't slow you down - and these days, that's enough.
  • by neoform (551705) <djneoform@gmail.com> on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:12AM (#12370468) Homepage
    Try saying this to it:

    "Let's recognize speech!"

    now, unless you properly enunciate every word, it might hear "Let's wreck a nice beach." ..

    speech recognition is nowhere near done yet.. ;)
  • Re:Pity (Score:3, Funny)

    by utexaspunk (527541) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:13AM (#12370484)
    Usually colleagues have a habit of making emssy files and storing things all over the shop

    unfortunately, spotlight won't help you find your files if you name them dyslexically...
  • by aendeuryu (844048) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:13AM (#12370487)
    The plural of virus is viruses.
    Writing "virri" doesn't make you look clever, educated people will laugh at you.


    Speak for yourself. Not all of us trot out our soapboxen for such little things.
  • by smitty_one_each (243267) * on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:15AM (#12370504) Homepage Journal
    8. Emacs
    Your devotion to the One True Editor is such that you (secretly) don't care what manner of kernel/windowing system you use to light off to run brilliant stuff like Gnus, ECB, or ERC.
    You like the substance of the GPL, even if you fall short of the full-on reactionary "ethical" style that some are capable of achieving.
    You wonder why the OS can't be as unobtrusive as the BIOS, and just serve Emacs quietly.
  • by rafleming (825583) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:15AM (#12370505)
    You're an idiot.
  • by Peldor (639336) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:18AM (#12370529)
    Steve Jobs said it's better.

    Are you questioning our great benevolent provider Jobs, citizen?

  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:18AM (#12370534)
    ...Apple won't release Quicktime 7 for Windows on the same day... They're just releasing the Mac version. Why? YOU'RE KILLING US APPLE! Release Quicktime 7 for Windows simultaneously!
  • by yodaj007 (775974) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:21AM (#12370581)
    If you don't switch, I'll call you a dumb poopie-head.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:25AM (#12370628)
    Tiger is the classiest version of Mac OS X ever and, by many measures, the most secure, stable and satisfying consumer operating system prowling the earth

    It sounds like he ran the article through the new hyperbolic chamber [theonion.com].
  • by meringuoid (568297) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:33AM (#12370737)
    Hmm. I'm currently on Gentoo, but, based on that writeup... maybe I should try LFS. I'm not into the matchsticks stuff, but, er...

    ...

    ... ;-)

  • by zoomba (227393) <mfc131&gmail,com> on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:35AM (#12370756) Homepage
    Did you just honestly use Enlightenment .17 in an argument? Isn't that like saying "Game X sure is great, but hell, Duke Nukem Forever will blow it away" ?
  • by rob10405 (677929) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:35AM (#12370765)
    Wow, I haven't laughed so hard at a post in a long time. Here's my spin on the Windows Fanboys I've met: Windows Fanboy- You used to work at Best Buy and you drive (**insert small foreign car model**) that you just installed your own oddly shape spoiler on. You refuse to spend any money on software, and everything installed on your machine is either cracked or pirated. Your currently working on your MCSE, but those damn TestKing cheat sheets are so expensive!!! You cruise high school parking lots searching for young girls that you can fool into thinking you have a future.
  • by jcoleman (139158) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:46AM (#12370923)
    I am the only one who's totally pissed off that not only is there a MICROSOFT ad on this article (probably appearing on others, but this one especially) but it HONKS A HORN AT FULL VOLUME? What is wrong with SlashDot?

    Coleman

    PS It scared the crap out of me.
  • by PriceIke (751512) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:49AM (#12370967)
    I don't know, I think my Commodore 128 is pretty secure and satisfying, nobody's tried to hack me yet. I guess it crashes now and then ..
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @08:57AM (#12371056)
    7. Slashdot smartass
    You probably use SuSE or Mandrake, which increases your productivity some 300% over that of any given competing product, or rather would if you wouldn't waste your time copy'n'pasting (yes, X supports it at long last!) stupid second-hand cliches from some lame website into slashdot. You hang around and wait until you get "Score:5, Funny", then you go to the bathroom and jerk off.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @09:12AM (#12371266)
    the ripple effect has been manually turned off by apple

    Yeah. They came 'round to my house yesterday but I wasn't home so they left a note saying they'd be back again in the morning. "Yeah sure," I thought, but sure enough, there they were! And not only did they turn off the ripple effect, but there was a leaky faucet they tightened up for me on their way out.

  • by CaseOfThaMondays (877679) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @09:26AM (#12371459)
    Liger is going to pretty much be my favorite OS. its bred for its skills in stability and magic.
  • by EvilTwinSkippy (112490) <yoda AT etoyoc DOT com> on Thursday April 28, 2005 @09:41AM (#12371663) Homepage Journal
    Everytime you use a cliche, God kills a kitten.

    Well the kittens got fed up.

  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @09:51AM (#12371822)
    The Mac mini is a great bedroom PC. It's quiet, small, and unobtrusive.

    With Tiger's new "private browsing" feature it's an even better bedroom PC (nudge-nudge, wink-wink, know-what-I-mean).
  • by GaryPatterson (852699) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @10:04AM (#12372003)
    Microsoft are dropping features from Longhorn faster than an epileptic juggler on fire whose being attacked by ninjas. Who are also on fire. And they're all in a tall building during an earthquake. And the building's on fire as well.
  • by Colol (35104) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @10:35AM (#12372434)
    The Automator icon's always kinda freaked me out since Apple released it to the features page. Maybe it's just me, but it looks like the roboto's going to flip out any moment and whack someone with that pipe. I can see him smacking it against his hand as he walks down the street looking for trouble.

    Back to the other topic at hand, Automator is very cool. Sure, you could accomplish almost everything it does with AppleScript, but this is certainly a better general audience approach. Once developers start writing their own Automator actions, then we'll really see utility take off.
  • Re:Pity (Score:4, Funny)

    by Queer Boy (451309) * <dragon.76@maCURIEc.com minus physicist> on Thursday April 28, 2005 @10:44AM (#12372588)
    I have transposition syndrome, you nisensitive cldo!
  • by Goo.cc (687626) * on Thursday April 28, 2005 @11:39AM (#12373323)
    Speaking as a subscriber, no.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @12:17PM (#12373816)
    It'll run about $500 + tax and shipping and is kind of cute.
  • by timeOday (582209) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @12:23PM (#12373874)
    I mumbled "Send the latest blah-blah file to person-so-n-so,"... And it understood me.

    Honestly, it kinda freaked me out a little. It was a very "Open the pod bay doors, Hal" moment.

    So you're saying OS-X recognizes the commands, but refuses to carry them out?
  • Re:Pity (Score:4, Funny)

    by As Seen On TV (857673) <asseen@gmail.com> on Thursday April 28, 2005 @12:35PM (#12374042)
    Steve would have used Bertrand instead of George, and he would have said "Boom" instead of "Poof."

    I'm clearly not Steve Jobs. ;-)
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @01:07PM (#12374436)
    While working in tech support for a game company there was obviously little respect for Macs.
    There was one of the early iMacs which was used for testing...rarely.
    Hearing coworkers cussing in their cubicles was never that big of a deal. It happened all of the time. One day, I got off of a call and I heard someone cussing and didn't recognize the voice. It took a few seconds for me to figure out that it sounded familiar. That's when I walked back to the iMac and saw that one of the techs had discovered that you could type cuss words into Simple Text and get the computer to read it out loud.

    I told them about using speakable items and about the choices of voices they could use. It was amazing that those features alone suddenly made the Mac more useful to my coworkers.
    ****
    Sometimes, when I don't feel like reading article online, I cut and paste artcles into a text editor and just have it read to me using Victoria's voice, Though for articles on politics, I just use the Deranged voice. Everything makes more sense then.
  • by harlows_monkeys (106428) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @01:23PM (#12374651) Homepage
    Here's a good one if you want to confuse a voice dictation system. In Burbank, CA, there is a street named Pass avenue, and it includes an overpass that passes over the freeway. If you were to travel that on a certain major Jewish holidy, you would "pass over Pass overpass over Passover".

    Good luck getting that recognized by today's speech recognition systems!

  • by object88 (568048) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @01:34PM (#12374797)
    The ripple effect makes my nipples hard.

    Jean-Louis Gassee? Is that you?
  • by Skibbering (787368) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @01:35PM (#12374820)
    I turned off Speech Recognition on my Mac - it was freaking me out when it started responding to voices on the TV. No lie! A typical conversation:

    TV: "...we don't have the time..."
    Mac: "It's seven thirty two".

    Ok, it's not exactly riveting dialogue, but still.. You KNOW you're getting neurotic when your household appliances are having conversations and you start feeling left out.
  • by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @02:04PM (#12375205)
    As a New Zealander, I've tried and tried to use Panther's voice command recognition (mainly for chess playing ;), and the damn thing just won't recognise my voice.

    That seems perfectly reasonable to me. When I was there I couldn't understand anybody either.

  • Re:Pity (Score:5, Funny)

    by abulafia (7826) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @02:27PM (#12375469)
    George is not his real name, but part about the elephant is true.)

    Damn, all my bar-room conversations end up that way.

  • Let me guess: if you were in a bar on your own, you'd order a martinus, right?

    Ah, old jokes...I'm working towards becoming one.
  • GNU/Linux (Score:1, Funny)

    by Anonymous Coward on Thursday April 28, 2005 @10:40PM (#12379837)
    9. GNU/Linux
    You have heard of this word 'shower' and seen one of these appliances one or two times but as yet have never used one. You call Apple users gay while only having male aquaintances yourself. You were beaten up at school and in all honesty you know you deserved it. You understand memory paging and can discuss the pros and cons of RISC v CISC but do not know how to change a car tyre. You believe every word should be prefixed with "GNU/", "G" or "K" and be a recursive acronym - that would be so teh cool! You mistakenly think your mother loves you.
  • by sv0f (197289) on Thursday April 28, 2005 @10:48PM (#12379874)
    Leave the humor to the funny people.

It appears that PL/I (and its dialects) is, or will be, the most widely used higher level language for systems programming. -- J. Sammet

Working...